Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Twelve Slays of Christmas

  • A Christmas Tree Farm Mystery
  • By: Jacqueline Frost
  • Narrated by: Allyson Ryan
  • Length: 8 hrs and 16 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (435 ratings)
Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Twelve Slays of Christmas cover art

Twelve Slays of Christmas

By: Jacqueline Frost
Narrated by: Allyson Ryan
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically.

Buy Now for £17.99

Buy Now for £17.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Live and Let Chai cover art
Cat Got Your Diamonds cover art
Falling Like Snowflakes cover art
The Christmas Cowboy (Rodeo Romance) cover art
Murder at the Manor: A 1920s Cozy Mystery cover art
Murder at the Dolphin Hotel: A Gripping Cozy Historical Mystery cover art
The Oxford Tearoom Mysteries Box Set Collection I cover art
Holiday Flirts! 5 Romantic Short Stories cover art
The Sweet Taste of Murder cover art
The Red Door Inn cover art
Sweet Tea and Secrets cover art
And Then There Were Crumbs cover art
Camper and Criminals Cozy Mystery Boxed Set, Books 1-3 cover art
A Stoneybrook Mystery Collection: A Cozy Mystery Box Set Books 1-3 cover art
Silver Bells cover art
The Zion Sawyer Cozy Mystery Box Set cover art

Summary

Filled with holiday charm and perfect for fans of Leslie Meier, Jacqueline Frost's charming series debut Twelve Slays of Christmas is set at a Christmas tree farm when the jolliest time of the year turns deadly.

When Holly White's fiancé cancels their Christmas Eve wedding with less than two weeks to go, Holly heads home with a broken heart. Lucky for her, home in historic Mistletoe, Maine is magical during Christmastime - exactly what the doctor prescribed. Except her plan to drown her troubles in peppermints and snickerdoodles is upended when local grouch and president of the Mistletoe Historical Society, Margaret Fenwick, is bludgeoned and left in the sleigh display at Reindeer Games, Holly's family tree farm.

When the murder weapon is revealed as one of the wooden stakes used to identify trees on the farm, Sheriff Evan Grey turns to Holly's father, Bud, and the Reindeer Games staff. And it doesn't help that Bud and the reindeer keeper were each seen arguing with Margaret just before her death. But Holly knows her father and is determined to exonerate him.

The jingle bells are ringing, the clock is ticking, and if Holly doesn't watch out, she'll end up on Santa's naughty list.

©2017 Jacqueline Frost (P)2017 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What listeners say about Twelve Slays of Christmas

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    262
  • 4 Stars
    109
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    265
  • 4 Stars
    97
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    230
  • 4 Stars
    103
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Annoying, Under Developed Main Character

It's the same storyline as the first book. While supporting characters are multidimensional, the author simply leaves the main character, Holly, as an annoying, selfish, bull-headed, immature amateur sleuth with blatant disregard for the law or for how her foolishly sloppy and downright dangerously stupid methods of unearthing facts directly affect her loved ones. It's surprising to learn that all the other characters from the first story continue to grow and develop as responsible adults while the character of Holly remains absolutely the same throughout each story, never learning crucial lessons after surviving brush after brush with death. I won't listen to more stories in this series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love this book..

Highly recommended...fun...good characters...very CHRISTMASSY....LOVE IT...only 2 in series...MORE PLEASE...

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Great book, I didn’t guess the murderer and it was beautifully read too.
Merry Christmas

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Schmaltzy cosy Christmas crime

Honestly not worth bothering if you're after any kind of brain testing crime thriller. The main character is not very likeable and the story itself is pretty silly. Without the pleasant-ish Christmassy theme running through it the whole thing would be absolutely dire.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

11 Slayings Short

Dreadful sickly American nonsense with only one murder...It's called 12 slayings!! The story is the worst kind of rubbish that only an American "writer" could come up with. The sheer amount of sugar everyone consumes in this book is probably why there is an obesity problem and made me feel queasy listening to it. And don't get me started on the language used..."gee golly gosh and apple pie".

Do not waste your money or credits on this.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Seasonal

Good story. Murder and a love story in one. Writer kept you guessing right to the end. Looking forward to reading the next one in the series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intense, compelling, intriguing murder mystery

I really enjoyed this book although it starts out with a murder it builds into a lot more, mystery, suspense thriller with romance thrown in as well, all set around the twelve days leading to Christmas on a tree farm with lots of daily events and the main characters Holly and Evan finding romance, Holly gets herself into all sorts of scrapes originally finding the dead body and Evan the Sheriff trying tomorrow her out of trouble, it was quite funny in places, narration was brilliant. I shall be looking for more books by the author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Christmas Fun!

Loved listening to this over Christmas- the description of the hot chocolate and cookies alone is enough to get you feeling festive!! It was great fun to listen to, loved the characters and the romance! Harmless Christmas fun… except the murder obviously! :-)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A feel good Christmas story

At first I found the narrator's American drawl irritating and I wasn't sure if I would continue listening. But, I am glad that I did. The narrator did well considering the number of characters but the voice of Holly wasn't always discernible. The plot was simple and realistic, albeit featuring a familiar trope of heroine in danger due to interfering with police work The characters were too good to be true. Even the baddie deserved some sympathy. The setting was interesting; I loved the games. But everybody ate too much. The animals were adorable.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Starting to get bored with these busybodies...

How many more sanctimonious females are there in cosy crime? Aurora Teagarden, Friendly Ghost Inn and now this one. The main character is only marginally less objectionable than the murder victim. Oh and she hooks up with the cop, just like the other two 🙄

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful