Listen free for 30 days

  • To Love and Let Go

  • A Memoir of Love, Loss, and Gratitude from Yoga Girl
  • By: Rachel Brathen
  • Narrated by: Rachel Brathen
  • Length: 8 hrs and 11 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (137 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

From the New York Times best-selling author of Yoga Girl and 'international force in the world of yoga' (Allure), a moving and inspirational memoir on how to cope with tragedy, adversity and change through yoga. 

To love and let go, love and let go, love and let go...it's the single most important thing we can learn in this lifetime.

While on her way to a yoga retreat in the Caribbean, Rachel Brathen collapsed in the airport and was rushed to the hospital for an emergency appendectomy. When she opened her eyes following the surgery, her boyfriend was at her bedside weeping, and she immediately knew something terrible had happened. She soon discovered that at the same time as her collapse, her best friend was killed in a car crash. 

Over the next two years, which should have been the happiest time of her life with her engagement and growing career, Rachel experienced trial after trial. From the overwhelming loss of her best friend, to the illness and death of her grandmother and a shocking suicide attempt by her mother, Rachel found herself in a deep depression. When she discovered she was pregnant, Rachel decided to use her pregnancy as a time to heal and an opportunity to be reborn herself. 

Now, in this evocative and remarkable memoir, Rachel shares the tools she used to cope with and overcome her depression. She invites you to share in her eye-opening epiphanies and realizations about life and death, love and fear, what it means to be a mother and a daughter, and the restorative power of yoga. Perfect for fans of Gabrielle Bernstein and Glennon Doyle, this unforgettable memoir will move and enlighten you.

©2019 Rachel Brathen (P)2019 Octopus Publishing Group

What listeners say about To Love and Let Go

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    115
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    112
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    109
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

Love this book so much, read it twince and the audiobook is even better! Beautiful raw story about life and loss. Made me cry, laugh and gave me all the feels. Great writing and also great to listen to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Truly beautiful

I started listening as something that might be interesting, with no expectation and no clue as to the treasure I’d just stumbled across. The first chapter knocked me off my feet and I went on to listen to the entire thing in one day. There are so many things I relate to in this book that it many times felt like I was the one telling the story - I say that knowing that most people who read/listen to this will feel the same. Thank you Rachel for finding the words for so many things we all feel. This book has truly been a gift.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

First half enjoyable, second half not

First half is an enjoyable story of being young and travelling. The second half focuses on the realism of death, however things are just repeated over and over for different people. Alot of people will enjoy this, but its not my cup of tea

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Inspire

Beautiful book. Would recommend to anyone looking to overcome obstacle in life.
I would read this book again and again.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful book.

Honestly written, raw, emotional and inspiring. Thank you for sharing your story to the world.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • L
  • 24-07-21

Totally immersed from Chapter 1 to the end

Heartbreakingly honest and totally relatable. A wealth of thought and thoughts to ponder over. Full of love and light ... and a sense that Good Things are always coming, coming ... despite the darkness and sadness we may find ourselves walking through. Thank you Rachel x

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nice story

Sad but nice little story. A inspirational story for light after darkness. Its also easy to listen to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

I absolutely adored this book. I laughed, I cried and I felt it all so personally. As soon as I had finished I gifted it to my sister. Brilliant brilliant brilliant.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

I thought this book was simply amazing!... so raw and real!... Rachel writes so beautifully it was an easy listen.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

terrible

who is this woman? this was so terrible, I couldn't even finish. a very privileged person talking about hardship and difficulties, come on now, this shouldn't even been published.