Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The fifth book in a new series of procedural crime thrillers featuring DI Walsh and the team of the Last Chance Saloon, To Hunt a Magpie is perfect for fans of L.J Ross, Ian Rankin, Damian Boyd and Ann Cleeves.

Thirty years ago, a group of five child detectives - Tommy, Luke, Tess, Jane and Daniel, along with their dog, Dexter - made the national press with their crime solving. Nicknamed the Magpies, their adventures were written up as novels by author Reginald Troughton and released to children around the world, including a 10-year old Declan Walsh. But now, someone is targeting the Magpies, with Reginald brutally murdered while writing a last, 'lost' adventure. And DI Declan Walsh and the team of the Last Chance Saloon must not only solve Reginald's murder with the 'help' of these rusty amateurs but, at the same time, save the surviving members of the Magpies from a devious and determined killer with a chilling connection.

©2021 Jack Gatland and Tony Lee (P)2022 W F Howes

What listeners say about To Hunt a Magpie

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

confusing

very confusing but stuck with it also far too long .But looking forward to the next book