Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Wildflowers cover art

The Wildflowers

By: Harriet Evans
Narrated by: Lucy Paterson
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The new novel by Sunday Times best seller Harriet Evans will transport you to a Dorset beach house, where you can feel the sand between your toes. Enter the home of Tony and Althea Wilde - the Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor of their generation and with a marriage every bit as stormy. This glorious tale of tangled family secrets and lies will leave you warm and glowing.

Tony and Althea Wilde. Glamorous, argumentative...adulterous to the core.

They were my parents, actors known by everyone. They gave our lives love and colour in a house by the sea - the house that sheltered my orphaned father when he was a boy.

But the summer Mads arrived changed everything. She too had been abandoned and my father understood why. We Wildflowers took her in.

My father was my hero, he gave us a golden childhood, but the past was always going to catch up with him...it comes for us all, sooner or later.

This is my story. I am Cordelia Wilde. A singer without a voice. A daughter without a father. Let me take you inside.

©2018 Harriet Evans (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

Critic reviews

"I adored The Wildflowers. A sweeping, epic, moving read." (Marian Keyes)
"Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Maeve Binchy." ( Best)

What listeners say about The Wildflowers

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    172
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    187
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    147
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Got better and better. Bitter sweet story

Good pace, interesting characters. Beautiful descriptions.
The story line got stronger as the book went on. More than a holiday read x

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story full of well drawn characters

I thoroughly enjoyed this story. Although it is long the story held my attention and I really enjoyed listening to Lucy Paterson. If you like very well written stories about eccentric families, you’ll really enjoy this one. I am going to look for more by this author and narrator.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

This is dull over written and contrived

The overview as published paints and picture of an interesting story woven around a interesting and alternative family. Actually reads like a children’s book. The author seems to like descriptions of quaint seaside scenes rather than plot. A combination of the text and the reader, suggested the author has read too many Enid Blyton books. So dull and annoying that I can’t finish it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not what you see on the surface

A great family story with lots of underlying stories, everyone had their own tail and perspective on what has, is happening

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely wonderful

Very well narrated and excellent storyline; didn’t want it to end and will probably listen to it again and again. I’m not usually one for compliments but had to take the time to review this. 10/10

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good, but not my favourite by this author.

For me the storyline was a bit so so. The plot seemed to keep losing its way. Not the best by this great author but fabulously narrated.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Atmospheric

Creative, absorbing and intriguing story with wonderful characters. The house and lifestyle by the sea are magical.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Anny

Great story - full of intrigue I didn’t want to stop listening
Poignant too
Well read

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A delightful ‘read’

I was looking for a light summer book when I chose The Wildflowers & it turned out to be so much more. Multi layered, spanning decades between WW11 & 2015, & centred on a wooden beach house at the edge of the sea in Dorset. I thought it was extremely well researched with believable & well drawn characters with real poignancy but without mawkish sentiment! I am sorry it is finished & I will look for more of Harriet Evans books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

slow burn but brilliant

narrated beautifully very slow burn story but worth sticking with it to the end .wonderful characters very moving really brought the book to life