Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Love will always find a way.... Discover the intriguing secrets of Hawthorn Place in this heartfelt dual-time novel, filled with warmth and charm, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Cecelia Ahern.

Two houses, hundreds of miles apart...yet connected always.

When life throws Molly Butterfield a curveball, she decides to spend some time with her recently widowed granddad, Wally, at Hawthorn Place, his quirky Victorian house on the Dorset coast.

But cosseted Molly struggles to look after herself, never mind her grieving granddad, until the accidental discovery of an identical Arts and Crafts house on the Norfolk coast offers her an unexpected purpose, as well as revealing a bewildering mystery.

Discovering that both Hawthorn Place and Acacia House were designed by architect Percy Gladwell, Molly uncovers the secret of a love which linked them, so powerful it defied reason.

What follows is a summer which will change Molly for ever....

©2021 Jennifer Keere (P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"An exquisitely detailed and enchanting love story." (Heidi Swain)

"Unforgettable and unique, the twists and turns of this enchanting book are woven together with threads of love and magic. I loved it!" (Clare Marchant)

"One of those wonderful, magical stories that appear rarely and stay in your heart forever." (Celia Anderson)

"A marvellous dual-time novel filled with mystery, fabulous detail and an enduring love story." (Maddie Please)

"I found the book enchanting." (Suzanne Snow)

What listeners say about The Secrets of Hawthorn Place

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant!

I absolutely loved this book,lovely story,quirky story and fascinating 2 time love story.
Thoroughly recommend.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • k
  • 14-08-22

Lovely Love story

I liked this book from the start although I thought it a bit far fetched at first but still enjoyable. I'm glad I stuck with it as it turned into a lovely warm love story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enchanting

What a wonderful story, I couldn’t stop listening. Beautifully read bringing the characters to life.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The secrets of Hawthour plsce

I managed half of this book and still none thevwiser what its about. I did try and persevere hoping it would get better but it didn't.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this book,more please Jenni!

Lovely story… I didn’t want it to finish, yet couldn’t put it down! More please Jenni!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Magical

Anyone who likes romantic fiction will love this book. It is a wonderful story I didn’t want to end. Highly recommend it. The narrator spoke too slowly for me but fine once I increased the speed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A magical love story

The Secrets of Hawthorn Place is a truly magical love story in a truly magical house. Hawthorn Place is as much of a character in the story as Molly and I would love to live there.