Listen free for 30 days

  • The White Empress

  • A Heart-Warming Saga of Chasing Your Dreams
  • By: Lyn Andrews
  • Narrated by: Julie Maisey
  • Length: 10 hrs and 24 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
The White Empress cover art

The White Empress

By: Lyn Andrews
Narrated by: Julie Maisey
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £21.99

Buy Now for £21.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A young woman will stop at nothing to achieve her dreams.

The White Empress, by best-selling author Lyn Andrews, is a moving saga of a young woman who is determined to make her own way in life - and see the world whilst doing so. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Dilly Court and Maureen Lee.

Cat Cleary is a 16-year-old Irish 'slummy' arriving in Liverpool to seek her fortune. Joe Calligan, a young steam-packet deckhand, thinks she's the loveliest girl he's ever seen and hasn't the heart to tell her that Liverpool is full of people tramping the streets looking for work.

And then Cat sees the White Empress, a huge luxury liner. In that moment her ambition is born - to be chief stewardess. In spite of her poverty, her lack of education, her family background, Cat Cleary sets about realising her incredible dream. And while doing so she discovers that having a good man by her side will bring her more happiness than she could ever have imagined.

©1989 Lyn Andrews (P)1989 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about The White Empress

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.