Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Summer Palace cover art

The Summer Palace

By: S. Forrest Nomakeo
Narrated by: David Akiva Klionsky
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Tea Room cover art
The Companion Series: Books 1-3 cover art
The Lion cover art
Lion of Twilight cover art
Letter from a Rake cover art
Lord of War cover art
The Healer's Apprentice cover art
Devil's Dominion cover art
A Spinster at the Highland Court cover art
Her Accidental Highlander Husband cover art
The Pawn cover art
To the Lady Born cover art
The Ward's Bride cover art
Highland Raven cover art
Highland Crown cover art
WolfeHeart: De Wolfe Pack Generations cover art

Summary

Seventeenth-century Russia remains very much a patriarchal society.

For the headstrong and willful Katia, daughter of Baron Alexei Sergeyevich Ulenka, life in the terem (a palace sanctuary where the virtue of girls is safeguarded) is unbearable when all she wants to do is experience the freedom of riding a horse. But ride a horse she does. Dressed as a servant girl, Katia meets and goes riding with the darkly intriguing German stable boy Wiley. But Wiley is headstrong, too, and soon is challenged by the aristocratic Feodor, Katia's cousin.

After three secret meetings, Katia and Wiley start to fall in love, but such a union could never be in a world where rich girls are seen as commodities to be used for advancement through marriage. To give himself any kind of chance with Katia, Wiley joins the dragoons with Pavel, Katia's brother, and then begins the years of physical, emotional, and intentional separation.

©2020 Shirley Forrest Nomakeo (P)2020 Shirley Forrest Nomakeo

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about The Summer Palace

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

ENJOYED

A very enjoyable listen. We are shown the lifestyle and life of a headstrong young woman in 17th century Russian. How Katia a daughter of a Baron wants to experience the freedom of horse riding. How are one act of rebellion sets things in motion.

oh yes there is Romance.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Summery Romance


I was given a free copy of this book by the author in exchange for an honest review.

I studied Russian history in university forty years ago, so I was looking forward to refreshing my memory on the subject. The novel did not disappoint me on that score, although it is not an historically accurate novel, and never set out to be one.

I remembered the Boyars and the strong German influence in Russia in the 17th Century. However, that is an aside, although a very welcome one.

The real story is a romance in the vein of Barbara Cartland and Mills and Boon. I have never read any of their books, but I am pretty sure in saying that The Summer Palace is similar in style to them but superior in content. However, it is as far removed from my favourite genres as you can get.

Romance addicts will love it.

I found the narration to be a little annoying at times, but it is unfortunate for the narrator that I speak both German and Russian, and have worked or studied there too. I feel that the narrator struggled with the accents. They came out as caricatures. That probably won't bother many Americans, most of whom wouldn't know the difference.

Having said that, the narrator has a beautiful tone to his voice, and a wide range of voices.

I was the wrong person to give this book to, but don't let that put you off. If romance is your bag, you'll love The Summer Palace.

Owen Jones

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!