Listen free for 30 days

  • The Perfect Stepmother

  • A Totally Gripping Psychological Suspense Thriller
  • By: Karen King
  • Narrated by: Susie Riddell
  • Length: 7 hrs and 10 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (44 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Perfect Stepmother cover art

The Perfect Stepmother

By: Karen King
Narrated by: Susie Riddell
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Mother-in-Law cover art
The Stranger in My Bed cover art
To Be a Mother cover art
The Perfect Girlfriend cover art
The Night of the Sleepover cover art
Happily Married cover art
Her First Child cover art
The New Girl cover art
The Invite cover art
The Baby Shower cover art
Do I Really Know You? cover art
The Wife Next Door cover art
The Wedding Guest cover art
The Ex cover art
The Engagement cover art
The New Couple cover art

Summary

"I just want to be your friend." She smiled at Lily, her dark brown eyes impossibly sincere. "And to be a mother to Emma too, of course." Her gaze flickered to Lily’s sister, but only Lily saw her expression momentarily change - from warm and loving to something else. Something Lily didn’t trust....

Lily has always had a simple dream: to be happy like her parents were. Content in their sweet suburban home, nothing in life had phased her mother and father, not even when they’d had a "surprise" second child, Emma, nearly 20 years after Lily. 

But their love story was cut tragically short when - after a devastating battle with cancer - Lily’s mother died. Lily was heartbroken, but also desperately worried about her grieving dad, not to mention five-year-old Emma. 

So, Lily is shocked and concerned when he suddenly decides to remarry, less than a year after her mother’s death. It feels far too soon, and Lily finds herself furious with him - and his new wife, Maria, who can apparently do no wrong. She seems madly in love with Lily’s dad and instantly bonds with Emma. 

It’s only Lily who can’t trust her. 

Who won’t trust her. 

And when Emma goes missing - could Lily be right? What if the greatest danger to them all is the woman now living in their family home? 

A totally gripping and unmissable psychological suspense novel about dark family secrets, perfect for fans of Shalini Boland, Claire McGowan, and Gone Girl.

©2021 Karen King (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Perfect Stepmother

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellant

Loved it,vivid pace kept me hooked until the end
Characters ers were very believable, great

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Very far fetched and awful accents!

First off, (and this is not the author’s fault), the narrator doing a terrible brummy accent nearly sent me over the edge. So grating! And the crime that the main character was accused of was ridiculous. It was clearly an accident. I won’t say too much, as it may be a spoiler. All very easy to guess though. No twist or shocks.

Another thing that got me was the repeated, puke inducing, ‘I loved her as my own’. We get it! But do you have to keep saying it over and over again? All in all, a very far fetched and disappointing read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Over 5 hours before there’s any action!

This book bored me so much - I have a terrible habit of continuing listening, even if a book starts off slow, just in case it gets better. Plus, I’d wasted a credit on it so worth £6/7. Nothing happened for ages and by the time it did I just wasn’t invested in the characters enough to care.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Bad story even worse narration

The men in the narration sound like caricatures of a man. The story is SO dull. I’m keeping this book in my library for when I have trouble sleeping.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

an enjoyable first read.

I found this an enjoyable 1st read from this author - not "omg I want to read it again" but enjoyable enough to want to read more by her. some parts of the story line didn't quite gel as I think manslaughter rather than murder might have been more appropriate, but not bad enough to make me stop reading. the narration was excellent though.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely brilliant book, thank you.....Mamfy.

Very enjoyable listening to this audio book....I have never had a Karen
King book before but I am definitely coming back for more....😁😁😁

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The perfect stepmother. Absolutely brilliant

Loved this, first book I've read in one night,definitely worth a credit! X x

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

monotonous

A dull, repetative story that could have been concentrated into one chapter! Badly written and predictable.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!