Listen free for 30 days

  • The Niece

  • An absolutely gripping psychological thriller with jaw-dropping twists
  • By: Georgina Cross
  • Narrated by: Lauryn Allman
  • Length: 9 hrs and 26 mins

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
The Niece cover art

The Niece

By: Georgina Cross
Narrated by: Lauryn Allman
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

All it takes is four words to shatter everything: “Your sister is dead.” Someone set fire to her house, and my niece is the only survivor. With trembling hands, I reach for the window and rip open the blinds. Everything remains quiet. But deep down I know: They’re coming after me next.

When I left my parents’ home in Kentucky, I never thought I’d see my sister again. For years, we kept a terrible secret, and eventually it tore us apart.

But when I get the call to say that my sister has been killed and my teenage niece Hannah is coming to live with us, I leave the past behind. Hannah is family, and I need to keep her safe. I know what could happen to her if I don’t.

When my niece arrives, she bonds with my daughter Cassie instantly. But then I hear a scream from the girls’ bedroom. And in the garden, someone has lit a fire. It’s a warning.

Then the note arrives. “I’m coming for you.” In that moment, I know that if I want to keep us alive, we have to leave everything behind.

Someone from my past won’t let me forget what I did all those years ago. They will stop at nothing. But are they closer to me than I could have ever imagined?

An utterly addictive psychological thriller packed with suspense about how far we will go to protect our darkest secrets. Perfect for fans of The Wife Between Us, The Woman in the Window, and Gone Girl.

©2022 Georgina Cross (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Niece

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for cindy
  • cindy
  • 02-10-22

Don’t waste your credit

Another very disappointing audiobook. The characters were unlikable and not very well developed. The story was weak and the ending very disappointing. I can’t believe I listened to the whole thing!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for bakerybiz
  • bakerybiz
  • 08-09-22

I really wanted to like it

I don't usually write bad book reviews. I guess I've been lucky in that I haven't read or listened to many bad books. There have been some mediocre for sure, but this...this was just bad. There was something about the narrator that made it hard for me to listen. There seemed to be an urgency for everything even when the text wasn't calling for it. That aside, I really thought the writing could have been better and I was disappointed with the "twists" that weren't that twisty and the plot seemed like a lob. I love that other people enjoyed it. I hate to come down so hard on something that was clearly a labor of love for the author, but for me, it was a swing and a miss.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa
  • lisa
  • 08-09-22

Better than expected

Nice little mystery with easy to follow story line and great characters! Narration was great,as well as the setting.