Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Man I Loved Before

  • By: Anna Mansell
  • Narrated by: Ella Lynch
  • Length: 10 hrs and 1 min
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Man I Loved Before cover art

The Man I Loved Before

By: Anna Mansell
Narrated by: Ella Lynch
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

What We Leave Behind cover art
The Accidental Housemate cover art
The Fall and Rise of Ronni Fairweather cover art
Unbreak Your Heart cover art
The Truth About You cover art
A Secret in the Family cover art
One Month of You cover art
My Only Child cover art
Happy Happy Happy cover art
Someone Else's Child cover art
Lessons for a Sunday Father cover art
The Last Train Home cover art
Weirdo cover art
Making Wishes at Bay View cover art
Until Next Weekend cover art
Tell Me Everything cover art

Summary

"Dear Ben, I can only write you this letter because I know you’ll never read it...."

When Jem writes to her ex, Ben, it’s to explain everything. All the secrets she kept from him - from the little lies she’d sometimes tell about how new those shoes really were, or how many glasses of wine she’d had that evening...right up to The Big Thing that happened on the night that changed everything. But she never expects he will actually see what she’s written.

She is just writing because she thinks it will help to get the words out. Later, she resolves, she’ll burn the letter, and then the past will be in the past for good.

Because Jem is doing fine now. She’s busy: working, spending time with her best friend, and looking after her mother, who’s in remission from cancer. She’s even dating again and has just met a guy who she thinks she could actually fall for. At long last, Jem is really, definitely somewhere close to happy.

But her mum finds the letter and thinks she’s doing Jem a favor when she posts it to Ben. And Jem’s new, carefully rebuilt life begins to unravel in ways she could never have imagined. Then, when her mother gets ill again, she finds herself asking who has the key to her future. The man she’s falling in love with now? Or the man she loved before?

A heartbreaking, beautifully honest novel that will stay with listeners long after they finish it. Perfect for fans of Diane Chamberlain, Amanda Prowse, and Susan Lewis.

©2020 Anna Mansell (P)2020 Bookouture

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about The Man I Loved Before

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An unexpected gem

This title dragged me mercilessly through a wider range of emotions than I was aware I was capable of experiencing from an audiobook. The story is written very well, delicately moving the main character through her development at a measured, careful, sometimes almost unbearably slow pace while keeping tension with the supporting characters. The author does a very good job of compounding stressors and wraps up lose ends very neatly. The narration is uncomprimisingly superb throughout, with unique, believable and consistent voices for each individual. An excellent use of a credit.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love love love

This book is beautifully written and has such a quiet strength and gentleness to it.

Ella Lynch really brings gem to life with the warmth and care she deserves, her narration is on point and an absolute joy to listen too. I'm on my 3rd listen of the book that's how good it is.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • JC
  • 08-10-20

Good Story & narrating shame about swear words

Took one star off because of the swearing words which I did not appreciate, therefore spoilt complete enjoyment of the Audio book. so returned it to Audible.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!