Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
The Lucky One cover art

The Lucky One

By: Jessica Payne
Narrated by: Jennifer Woodward
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Ten years ago, I survived a serial killer. They called me the lucky one, but they don’t know the truth I’ve been hiding ever since….

Then: We danced together that night, our dresses glittering in the swirling lights. We couldn’t have known that for one of us, it would be our last night alive.

Now: Back in my hometown a decade later—the place I’ve avoided because of the memories—I can’t shake the feeling that I am being followed. I tell myself it’s all in my head, but the prickle on the back of my neck feels like a warning. Then the anonymous messages land in my inbox: I’m watching. I’ve been waiting for you.

I want to feel safe, surrounded by my closest friends. But everyone has something to hide and it’s impossible to know who I can trust.

When my friend Esme goes missing, her phone ringing through to voicemail, it feels like the past is about to repeat itself.

Someone won’t let me forget what really happened that night. What I promised. How I escaped. If the truth comes out, I only hope they can forgive me... I can’t make the same mistake again. I have to keep us all safe. What if, this time, I’m not so lucky?

An addictive, nail-biting psychological thriller, The Lucky One will have you sleeping with the light on. Fans of Stillhouse Lake, The Girl on the Train, and Gillian Flynn will be totally hooked! 

©2022 Jessica Payne (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

More from the same

What listeners say about The Lucky One

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cooking while booking
  • Cooking while booking
  • 25-10-22

Can’t make myself finish

I’m sure the author is a nice person and I’m sorry if this seems unkind, but I can’t make myself finish. The narrator is just awful. The story is so improbable that I’m furious with previous ratings that said this was good. Apologies to author and narrator but this is my most regrettable audible purchase of all time. There is nothing believable. This takes artistic license to an inconceivable extreme. Two hours left and I just wish the protagonist would end it for the reader’s sake. I’m done. I don’t care who is guilty because I want every character to be gone.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debbie
  • Debbie
  • 20-10-22

Not so great

I just never felt invested enough in this story. It is a decent premise, although highly unlikely (like a lot of books, so no big deal). It just never made me feel like I couldn't wait to get back to my book. I'm afraid I felt more like I just couldn't wait to get to the end so I could move on to a different and more interesting book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michele Hagin Loper
  • Michele Hagin Loper
  • 20-09-22

Adrenaline-fueled storyline, SUPER exciting!

I loved this book for many reasons. Mostly, because I stayed on the edge of my seat—AND I thought the main character was super relatable.

Not sure what that says about me, but from Nora’s words the “handsome writer with gentle eyes and a kind smile who knew just what to say to make everything I said seem so interesting” to Nora’s observation of her best friend’s high school boyfriend, now grown-up and showing her there’s more to him than what she remembers as they workout together and spar at the gym. Nora notes he has that “dynamic strength that comes with real work”.

It’s easy for me to see what drew her to each of the other characters in the book. I love her frank perspective!

Great job developing all the characters JW! I love when books have enough information, intricately woven into the storyline that I feel like I know her MMA coach a little myself!

This book was chock full of thrilling adventure and mystery, as well as psychological suspense. Way to go Jennifer Woodward!!!! Keep writing! Please!!!!