Listen free for 30 days

  • The Lost Sister of Fifth Avenue

  • Daughters of New York, Book 4
  • By: Ella Carey
  • Narrated by: Laurence Bouvard
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
The Lost Sister of Fifth Avenue cover art

The Lost Sister of Fifth Avenue

By: Ella Carey
Narrated by: Laurence Bouvard
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Martha pulled the front door of her Fifth Avenue apartment closed and stood stock still, clutching the telegram, her heart thumping. Her beloved sister Charlotte was in France, and the news told daily of the growing threat of the Nazis. Fearing what the telegram might contain, Martha hardly dared open it. But she knew she must.

New York, 1938: As Martha looks out of her bedroom window at the blossom-covered trees in Central Park, she is a world away from the threat of the Second World War. Working as a children’s librarian, she is happy with her quiet life in contrast to her adventurous sister Charlotte who moved to Paris and works at a gallery owned by close family friend Anita.

When a telegram from France arrives, Martha is shocked to discover that Anita has died and in that moment, she has to make the bravest decision of her life. With the Nazi threat growing, she must travel to France to find Charlotte and Anita’s Jewish parents and bring them home to safety.

Arriving in Paris, Martha finds a city preparing for war. At Anita’s home, clutching her sister tightly, Martha knows that Charlotte has already decided to stay. As an American in Paris, she believes she will be safe and will work for the Resistance carrying messages and hiding precious works of art. Through tears, Martha promises to get Anita’s parents to safety and join the war effort back in New York.

But as war rages across Europe, Martha and Charlotte’s determination will be tested like never before. And when Charlotte uncovers a shocking secret about her family, which threatens her own life, can she find the strength to protect those she loves the most?

From top-10 best-selling author Ella Carey comes an utterly heartbreaking novel about the strength of sisterly love and the courage and strength of the women of the Resistance perfect for fans of The Nightingale, All The Light We Cannot See, and Fiona Valpy.

©2022 Ella Carey (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Lost Sister of Fifth Avenue

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.