Listen free for 30 days

  • The Long Journey Home

  • By: Cecily Blench
  • Narrated by: Natalie Dew
  • Length: 9 hrs and 59 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
The Long Journey Home cover art

The Long Journey Home

By: Cecily Blench
Narrated by: Natalie Dew
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £34.99

Buy Now for £34.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A moving and powerful novel of love, secrets and redemption in a country torn apart by war.

It's 1941, and Kate is living in Rangoon, Burma. A world away from her traditional English upbringing, she is bewitched by the country and the kindness of the Burmese people. When Edwin, a young teacher from London, starts working in the government office with her, a friendship develops between them. But Kate can sense that Edwin has secrets and is looking for a place to call home - something she shares.

As their bond grows, Kate begins to understand Edwin's past and the tragic events that brought them both to Burma. But war is coming, and, when the Japanese invade, Kate and Edwin are forced to flee, along with thousands of others. They begin a perilous journey to India but soon become separated. As Kate continues alone, she can't get the troubled young man she has come to care so deeply for out of her head.

With the fallout of war all around them, in a place far from home, will Kate and Edwin survive their journey and find the new beginning they both seek?

The Long Journey Home is the winner of the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize, Best Unpublished Manuscript Award. Perfect for fans of Kate Furnivall and Dinah Jefferies.

©2021 Cecily Blench (P)2021 Bonnier Books UK

More from the same

What listeners say about The Long Journey Home

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ending

It didn’t really have an ending I’m not sure what happened to the heroine. Otherwise good

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Absolutely fabulous, the narrator has a silky voice and very easy to listen to, the story is mesmerising

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

What a rollercoaster

The narration was excellent Different accents where brilliant Loved the story different to any other WW2 story I immediately became invested in Kate Enjoyed the story I only missed the outcome of the male l must rewind I had a strong sense about Edwin l loved his character

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well written and researched

I really enjoyed this book and would definitely recommend it. Such a brilliant story with interesting characters. The narrator has such a wonderful voice & told the story so well.