Listen free for 30 days

  • The Little Library on Cherry Lane

  • By: Katie Ginger
  • Narrated by: Katy Sobey
  • Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The heart-warming new novel from the author of The Secrets of Meadow Farmhouse and The Perfect Christmas Gift. The ideal next story for fans of Cathy Bramley, Rachael Lucas and Heidi Swain! 

Elsie Martin may lead a quiet life, but working in her beloved local library is enough to make her happy. After all, books have always been her armour against the world. So when the library is threatened with closure to make way for a new housing development, Elsie knows it has to be saved—and that, despite being painfully shy, she needs to lead the campaign to save it.

Jacob Yardley thinks he’s doing the right thing by building a new affordable housing development. Why shouldn’t local people be able to buy a house in the place they grew up? Having to leave his own small hometown broke his heart. Plus, people don’t really use libraries anymore, do they?

As Elsie and Jacob clash over the future of the library, sparks begin to fly. Jacob is falling back in love with books and libraries—could he possibly be falling for her, too? And will Elsie be able to save the library that means so much to her?

©2022 Katie Ginger (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"So warm hearted and beautifully written with such a perfect ending. A really heart-warming summer read." (Phillipa Ashley)

"A delight from start to finish…. Wraps you in the cosy arms of a community full of friendship." (Sarah Bennett, author of the Mermaids Point series)

"One of the loveliest books I’ve read for ages!... Talk about unputdownable! Every time I put it down, I wanted to pick it back up again and read just a little bit more!" (Jaimie Admans, author of The Post Box at the North Pole)

What listeners say about The Little Library on Cherry Lane

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyed it

I really enjoyed it. I liked the characters and loved the setting. It was unusual to have a library as such a feature in a country romance. The library reminded me of the one I read in as a child.