Listen free for 30 days

  • The Great Witch of Brittany

  • By: Louisa Morgan
  • Narrated by: Polly Lee
  • Length: 15 hrs and 9 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (62 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Great Witch of Brittany cover art

The Great Witch of Brittany

By: Louisa Morgan
Narrated by: Polly Lee
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.00

Buy Now for £13.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Witch's Knight cover art
White Haven Witches, Books One - Three cover art
Cunning Women cover art
The Little Shop of Found Things: A Novel cover art
Lilith cover art
The Beast That Never Was cover art
The Witch's Tree cover art
The Good Wife of Bath cover art
The Midwife cover art
The Embroidered Book cover art
All the Murmuring Bones cover art
The Graham Saga, Books 1-3 cover art
The Year of Ancient Ghosts cover art
The Path of Thorns cover art
The Witch's Heart cover art
Widdershins cover art

Summary

Discover the story of Ursule Orchière in this captivating tale of family, witchcraft and love, perfect for fans of Practical Magic, The Witch's Daughter and A Discovery of Witches.

Brittany, 1741: there hasn't been a witch born in the Orchière clan for generations. According the elders, that line is dead, leaving the clan vulnerable to persecution. Ursule Orchière has been raised on stories of the great witches of the past. But the only magic she knows are the false spells her mother weaves over the women who visit their fortune-telling tent.

All of that changes when Ursule comes of age and a spark of power flares to life. Thrilled to be chosen, she has no idea how magic will twist and shape her future. Guided by the whispers of her ancestors and an ancient grimoire, Ursule is destined to walk the same path as the great witches of old. But danger hovers over her. Will she be able to escape the bloodlust of the mob or the flames of the pyre?

©2022 Louisa Morgan (P)2022 Hachette Audio UK
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

What listeners say about The Great Witch of Brittany

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Utterly Captivating.

Having read and adored A Secret History of Witches last week, I had to make sure this was the follow up. Louisa Morgan has such a wonderful way of drawing you into the lives and the loves of all her characters and this has to be my absolute favourite. I don’t like to give spoilers but I highly recommend that you read these books in the order in which they were published. As it’s book is a prequel to A Secret History of Witches, the story of Ursulè becomes far more enchanting, heart wrenching and beloved. This book in particular will remain with me always as one of the best I have ever read/listened to. Polly Lee lends her many voices as she narrates this beautifully. Her accents and passion in the dramatic scenes which build to a heart thumping crescendo are absolutely wonderful and totally make this audio book utterly magical. I simply cannot wait for more works from Louisa more Polly Lee collaborations for Audible.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful and well written

If you are not aware of the traditional festivals of the turning year, you might want to Google the Celtic wheal of the year before reading this beautiful story. Very life like in the way it is written.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I love this Author and her stories. There are many paths for those one this road. I got great pleasure hearing a story deemed fiction. Thank you Ms Lee I appreciate your progression of pronunciations. I enjoyed hearing you tell the story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely story telling

Really good story, very moving. Am enjoying reading this authors books. Would recommend to people who enjoy a slow burner.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just wonderful!

What a wonderful listen. It left me with tears in my eyes, esp as I finished the book on the anniversary my gorgeous black fur ball left me. Thank you so much Louisa Morgan for your ability to help us leave our worries behind and escape inside a different place and time.
Polly Lee’s narration is as important as the book too as poor narration ruins the best of books, her voice suits the book perfectly, thank you.X

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Overall my attention was not captured

The story is detailed in its descriptions the characters do come to life well the length of the book is also manageable. However the story seemed to plateau out and I struggled to keep interest. Which is a shame. For a book which says it’s about a witch i understand a witch in hiding but I feel this book is more a history of a person than about witch craft or the mag that comes with it. I suppose a very factual account of really actually no magic ever happens, it’s about observing feast days and growing herbs.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this!

I absolutely loved this, I didnt want it to end! I loved the narration too. Quite often I'm disappointed with the narrators of some of the books I've purchased, but this book was beautifully narrated. Highly recommended *****

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enchantment par excellence

A wonderful web of stories intertwined together telling a family’s history through time.
Thoroughly enjoyed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic end to this series

I loved every single book in this series, such a well written book, one can tell the amount of research that’s going into it. Brilliant!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love love love this

A fabulous book. Such a beautiful story, with wonderful characters. I didn't want it to end. The narration is also fantastic.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!