Listen free for 30 days

  • The Governess of Penwythe Hall

  • The Cornwall Novels, Book 1
  • By: Sarah E. Ladd
  • Narrated by: Jude Mason
  • Length: 9 hrs and 58 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (22 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Governess of Penwythe Hall cover art

The Governess of Penwythe Hall

By: Sarah E. Ladd
Narrated by: Jude Mason
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.00

Buy Now for £13.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Curiosity Keeper cover art
The Letter from Briarton Park cover art
The Weaver's Daughter cover art
The Heiress of Winterwood cover art
In the Shadow of Croft Towers cover art
Lady Jayne Disappears cover art
Heir to the Duke cover art
A Rumored Fortune cover art
The Shadow Earl cover art
The Marriage Season cover art
Shadows of Swanford Abbey cover art
Isabelle cover art
The Duke Who Loved Me cover art
A Trick of Fate cover art
Larkspur Cove cover art
The Unwanted Heiress cover art

Summary

Perfect for fans of Poldark and Bridgerton, this Regency romance is rich with family secrets, lingering danger, and the captivating allure of new love, all taking place on the Cornish coast. 

Cornwall, England, 1811: Blamed for her husband’s death, Cordelia Greythorne fled Cornwall and accepted a governess position to begin a new life. Years later, her employer’s unexpected death and his last request for her to watch over his five children force her to reevaluate. She can’t abandon the children now that they’ve lost both parents, but their new guardian lives at the timeworn Penwythe Hall...back on the Cornish coast she’s tried desperately to forget.

Jac Twethewey is determined to revive Penwythe Hall’s once-flourishing apple orchards, and he’ll stop at nothing to see his struggling estate profitable again. He hasn’t heard from his brother in years, so when his nieces, nephews, and their governess arrive unannounced, he battles both grief at his brother’s death and bewilderment over this sudden responsibility. Jac’s priorities shift as the children take up residence in the ancient halls, but their secretive governess - and the mystery shrouding her past - proves to be a disruption to his carefully laid plans.

Praise for The Governess of Penwythe Hall:

"Brimming with dangerous secrets, rich characters, and the hauntingly beautiful descriptions Sarah Ladd handles so well, 1800s Cornwall is brought vividly to life in this well-crafted tale that kept me glued to the pages. What a brilliant start to a new series!" (Abigail Wilson, author of Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey)

"Absolutely captivating! Once I started reading, I couldn’t put down The Governess of Penwythe Hall. This blend of Jane Eyre, Jane Austen, and Jamaica Inn has it all. Intrigue. Danger. Poignant moments. And best of all a sweet, sweet love story. This is by far my favorite Sarah Ladd book. Don’t hesitate to snatch up this title!" (Michelle Griep, Christy Award-winning author)

"The Governess of Penwythe Hall is a delightful and emotionally gripping tale that will tick all the boxes for any Regency lover: romance, history, and enough unpredictable intrigue to keep you up past your bedtime." (Kristi Ann Hunter, author of A Defense of Honor)

"Lovers of sweet and Christian romance alike will fall in love with Delia’s strength amid the haunting backdrop of her tragic past and the Cornish coast. Throw in a handsome leading man willing to turn his life upside down for the children in Delia’s charge, and you have a story you can’t put down." (Josi S. Kilpack, Whitney Award-winning author)

  • Sweet, full-length Regency romance
  • First book in the Cornwall novels (The Governess of Penwythe HallThe Thief of Lanwyn Manor, and The Light at Wyndcliff), but can be listened to as a stand-alone story
  • Book length: 94,000 words
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs
©2019 Sarah E. Ladd (P)2019 Thomas Nelson

Critic reviews

“Brimming with dangerous secrets, rich characters, and the hauntingly beautiful descriptions Sarah Ladd handles so well, 1800s Cornwall is brought vividly to life in this well-crafted tale that kept me glued to the pages. What a brilliant start to a new series!” (Abigail Wilson, author of In the Shadow of Croft Towers)

The Governess of Penwythe Hall is a delightful and emotionally gripping tale that will tick all the boxes for any Regency lover: romance, history, and enough unpredictable intrigue to keep you up past your bedtime.” (Kristi Ann Hunter, author of A Defense of Honor)

“Lovers of sweet and Christian romance alike will fall in love with Delia’s strength amid the haunting backdrop of her tragic past and the Cornish coast. Throw in a handsome leading man willing to turn his life upside down for the children in Delia’s charge, and you have a story you can’t put down.” (Josi S. Kilpack, Whiney Award-winning author of the Mayfield Family series)

What listeners say about The Governess of Penwythe Hall

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring

Modern language and talk of toothbrushes in a very flimsy story. A waste of time

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent and very enjoyable.

loved this. A good story, easy to follow and keep up with. A great listen!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good mystery

Well written and lovely descriptions of Cornwall. Well developed characters and plot. Well narrated and worth keeping.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A lovely well spoken story


Beautifully written and narrated. That was the first time I've listened to Sarah Lloyd's work. It definitely won't be the last.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!