Listen free for 30 days

  • The Gauntlet and the Fist Beneath

  • The Rotstorm, Book 1
  • By: Ian Green
  • Narrated by: Fiona McNeill
  • Length: 13 hrs and 51 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Gauntlet and the Fist Beneath cover art

The Gauntlet and the Fist Beneath

By: Ian Green
Narrated by: Fiona McNeill
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £21.99

Buy Now for £21.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

An action-packed and unique fantasy adventure, featuring General Floré and a quest to save her abducted daughter, by debut Scottish author Ian Green.

The endless rotstorm rages over the ruins of the Ferron Empire. Floré would never let the slavers of the empire rise again. As a warrior of the Stormguard Commandos, she wrought horrors in the rotstorm to protect her people. She did her duty and left the bloodshed behind. Floré’s peace is shattered when blazing orbs of light cut through the night sky and descend on her village. Her daughter is abducted, and Floré is forced into a chase across a land of twisted monsters and ancient gods. She must pursue the mysterious orbs, whose presence could herald the return of the empire she spent her entire life fighting. Now, Floré must take up the role she had sworn to put aside and become the weapon the Stormguard trained her to be, to save not only her daughter, but her people....

Listen to this action-packed and unique fantasy adventure from debut Scottish author Ian Green. Perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson's Stormlight Archive series or Sam Sykes' Seven Blades in Black.

©2021 Ian Green (P)2021 W F Howes

What listeners say about The Gauntlet and the Fist Beneath

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating

Prepare to be immersed in a new universe you will fall in love with, where right and wrong are not clear. Where wolves herald a harsh winter and lights in the sky could be scifi, could be fantastical magic, could be past, could be future. Where warriors fight with fists and minds. Where Norse-inspired gods shaped a world both brutal and magical. Where peoples of all types live in peace and yet at ever-war. I bloody loved this book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great debut

A fantastic listen to kick off an adventure into a new world! Well written and excellent narration to go with it.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A Struggle

The story seemed to require prior knowledge of the mythology. The story also jumped around far too much.

The narration was beautifully delivered.