Listen free for 30 days

  • The Gates of Evangeline

  • By: Hester Young
  • Narrated by: January LaVoy
  • Length: 13 hrs and 32 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £23.99

Buy Now for £23.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

For fans of Tana French and Gillian Flynn, The Gates of Evangeline is the addictive first book in a fantastic new crime series that will have you guessing until the very end.

When grieving mother and New York journalist Charlie Cates begins to experience vivid dreams about children after her only son passes away, she’s sure that she’s lost her mind. Yet she soon realizes these are not the hallucinations of a bereaved mother. They are messages and warnings that will help Charlie and the children she sees - if she can make sense of them.

The disturbing images lead her from her home in suburban New York City to small-town Louisiana, where she takes a commission to write a true-crime book based on the case of Gabriel Deveau, the young heir to a wealthy and infamous Southern family, whose kidnapping 30 years ago has never been solved.

There she meets the Deveau family, none of whom is telling the full truth about the night Gabriel disappeared. And as she uncovers long-buried secrets of love, money, betrayal and murder, the facts begin to implicate those she most wants to trust, and her visions reveal an evil closer than she could have imagined.

©2015 Hester Young (P)2015 Random House Audiobooks

What listeners say about The Gates of Evangeline

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not great, but has something.

Overly dramatic reading. Central mystery was very easily guessed early on. Most of the peripheral issues were pretty obvious too. That said, there was a certain pull to the story.