Listen free for 30 days

  • The Executioner's Right

  • The Executioner's Song, Book 1
  • By: D.K. Holmberg
  • Narrated by: John Pirhalla
  • Length: 12 hrs and 33 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Executioners don’t solve crimes; they punish those who commit them. Or so Finn thought before apprenticed to one.

Poverty-stricken Finn Jagger would give anything to heal his ailing mother. With his father imprisoned, Finn has joined a thieving crew to earn the money he needs to save her. When the latest heist turns to disaster and lands him on death row, Finn’s future seems to be tied up with a noose.

Until the king’s executioner claims him as an apprentice. 

Finn soon learns an executioner has far more power and greater responsibility than he’d ever realized. As inquisitor and detective, he must find the truth behind each sentence he carries out. It’s a challenging job, but one that Finn is surprisingly good at. 

When the crew decides Finn could be the key to completing an impossible heist that threatens the kingdom, he’s forced to choose between his new job and his old friends. And making the wrong choice could cost him everything. 

The Executioner's Right is the first book in The Executioner's Song epic fantasy series and is perfect for fans of Michael J. Sullivan, Brent Weeks, and James Islington.

©2021 ASH Publishing (P)2021 ASH Publishing

What listeners say about The Executioner's Right

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The Executioner's Right

I was disappointed with performance as an American accent does not fit with the story, which seems to be set hundreds of years before there was an America. I could not finish the story, as I did not find the performance authentic.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andreas jonsson
  • Andreas jonsson
  • 08-06-21

Don't know what to think

First of, the title of the book spoils a lot of the beginning. all the "build up" and suffering is uselessly when he is not going to die anyway, and it was disappointing.

The world building is interesting and quite unique, with vague magic, kinda like lotr.


But mc is to way naive for his age, he is able to read people apparently but then gets tricked all the time. as a thief he is supposed be silent but can't keep his mouth shut.

There are a lot of contradictions he wants to help his mother as his main motive, but then he helps those that have betrayed him. especially when his family is safe and his mother getting better and then just throws them in the fire for no real reason.

Would have preferred the executioner as the main character, he is the only one except the mc's sister that have real personalities, thoughts and emotions.

5 people found this helpful