Listen free for 30 days

  • The Evacuee War

  • By: Katie King
  • Narrated by: Joan Walker
  • Length: 8 hrs and 31 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Far from home, hope will keep them together. 

The plucky evacuees must come together in this heart-warming saga set in the Second World War for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin.

In September 1940, after a year away from home, 11-year-old twins Connie and Jessie have finally settled into evacuee life in Harrogate. But when the brutal bombings in London begin, threatening their parents who live near the Bermondsey docks, their courage is put to the test.

Aunt Peggy keeps a watchful eye on the spirited twins but doesn’t know all their troubles as they start secondary school. She must raise baby Holly, while searching for the strength to divorce her cheating husband, who may have just ruined her only chance to love again. 

Full of hope and courage, The Evacuee War is the third in the heart-warming saga series set during the Second World War from Katie King.

©2021 Katie King (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about The Evacuee War

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.