Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £11.99

Buy Now for £11.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick and an instant New York Times bestseller 

For fans of The White Lotus and Big Little Lies, Ellery Lloyd's The Club is exhilarating and addictive, telling a story of ambition, excess and what happens when people who have everything—or nothing—to lose are pushed to their limit.

There’s no place like Home....

The Home Group is a collection of ultra-exclusive private members' clubs and a global phenomenon, and the opening of its most ambitious project yet—Island Home, a forgotten island transformed into the height of luxury—is billed as the celebrity event of the decade. 

But as the first guests arrive, the weekend soon proves deadly—because it turns out that even the most beautiful people can keep the ugliest secrets and, in a world where reputation is everything, they'll do anything to keep it. 

If your name's on the list, you're not getting out....

©2022 Macmillan Publishers International Limited (P)2022 Macmillan Publishers International Limited

Critic reviews

"One of the most riveting books I've read in a long time." (Louise Candlish, author of Our House)

"Smart, topical and immensely entertaining." (T.M. Logan, author of The Holiday)

What listeners say about The Club

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    36
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    11
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    97
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    15

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Overhyped, preposterous plot and clunky characters

I had this on pre-order for a long time and then was thrilled to see it got a glowing write up in one of the Sunday magazines.
I rubbed my hands together with glee at the prospect of a fabulous luxury location thriller and counted down the days with great anticipation.
The first thing that rankled was the narrator. Pleasant enough reading voice but, oh dear even simple words got mangled by her let along things like Krug and facsimile. I tried to put that aside and went with it, though it did really bring down the tone of this supposedly exclusive club for artists, writers and A list celebs.
My next impression was of too many larger than life, almost cartoonish characters - one continually seemed to be dressed like a clown even for a pony trek. The boss was an unreasonable rage filled monster and the surrounding locals were torch wielding townsfolk.
The whole thing put me in mind of an episode of Hi-De-Hi and seemed more Butlins Holiday Camp than amazing exclusive retreat for artists especially as the club about the opening of the latest branch located in the UK - don't know why but I imagined it was going to be set somewhere fabulous, sunsoaked and tropical but no just in the English countryside - YAWN!
Then I must have drifted off with the sheer pantomime of it all and next thing I knew two giant plot reveals were handed to me - one more ridiculous than the next and both rather tired and cliched.
Told in a "then/now" structure, even the dramatic finale could not make me care enough to listen to another over contrived word, so I am returning,
I really seem to have hit a run of bad luck with my much loved thrillers recently - bored by the dull domestic drama of "The Curfew" by TM Logan though I loved his "The Catch", "The Holiday" and "Lies" - the wrongly classified "The Villa" by Clare Boyd which is not a thriller - the odd and disappointing ly dark "Just another Liar" by Mandy Byatt" which I did manage to limp through - the terminally dreary" The Wedding Murders" by Sarah Linley which I have also abandoned and "The Appeal" by Janice Hallett which, though it had a very unusual format, did not grip me and I found the child illness depressing.
Why oh why can I not find anything to measure up to the amazing 5 star plus thriller "Hot Water" by Christopher Fowler which was flawless and I delighted in devouring right down to the last riveting reveal?
Tonight I am starting another location thriller "The Cove" by Alice Clark-Platts - wish me luck!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

not for me

I just couldn't get into this story at all, I tried really hard and finished it but the amount of times I zoned out and had to rewind it.. just wasn't for me! Will be returning..

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

A good mixture of celebrity and murder which was well written and had enough details and twists to keep you interested till the end

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Too tabloidy for me.

The sound editor needs to listen again to the many mispronounced words. Very distracting

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

total rubbish...dont bother

The narrator ..aptly called Payne...is dreadfull and so monotonous she spoils what is already a stupid overpacked ridiculous boring story. I keep listening and it gets worse and worse...full of useless detailing and characters are so nothing and it becomes a pain to listen to...awfull...just awful

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good listen

I liked this book, certainly a good read if you like the whole celebrity style book. Set in one of those private hotels, and the awful celebrities, and sometimes worse owners lives.

Entertaining and fun to listen to.



  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good concept, mediocre execution

Though the idea for the plot is intriguing and the hook is good, all the characters are so deeply unlikeable and unrelatable that I lost interest in who was even dead before we found out, and cared even less who had done it because they all deserved it.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I fell asleep a few times

I never write reviews but this was such a boring story. There were a few twists and turns but not enough to keep me awake. Sorry!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • N
  • 26-05-22

struggled to finish

very poor quality audio book . was keep interrupting every 20min or so which made it difficult to enjoy . the description of the book sounded much better but the actual storyline I found it pretty average, wouldn't recommend it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Chick flick at its best

Loved the layering stories and characters. Light listening and an entertaining one at that. A host of characters but easy to follow and a good plot twist .

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rebekah Burke
  • Rebekah Burke
  • 03-08-22

Hit and miss

A good writing style and an interesting premise and background, but the story fell flat at times and indulged in too many convenient little coincidences.