Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Task Force Baum cover art

Task Force Baum

By: James D. Shipman
Narrated by: Michael Braun
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £20.99

Buy Now for £20.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

Standing the Final Watch (Last Brigade) cover art
Assault by Fire cover art
The Thin Dead Line cover art
A Mortal Terror cover art
Cherry Drop cover art
Special Operations: Grant's War cover art
March or Die cover art
Ring of Fire I cover art
Moon Above, Moon Below cover art
Last Stand: The Complete Box Set cover art
Tark's Ticks cover art
Halbe, 1945 cover art
By the Blood of Heroes cover art
The Red World War cover art
The Battle of Long Tan cover art
The Last Jump cover art

Summary

In the tradition of Saving Private Ryan and Bridge Over the River Kwai, best-selling author James D. Shipman delivers a powerful, action-packed novel that illustrates the long-buried secrets and unending costs of war-based on the true story of General Patton's clandestine unauthorized raid on a World War II POW camp.

March, 1945. Allied forces are battle-worn but wearily optimistic. Russia's Red Army is advancing hard on Germany from the east, bolstering Allied troops moving in from the west and north. Soon, surely, Axis forces must accept defeat. Yet for Captain Jim Curtis, each day is a reminder of how unpredictable and uncertain warfare can be.

Captured during the Battle of the Bulge after the Germans launched a devastating surprise attack, Curtis is imprisoned at a POW camp in Hammelburg, Bavaria. Conditions are grim. Inmates and guards alike are freezing and starving, with rations dwindling day by day. But whispers say General Patton's troops are on the way, and the camp may soon be liberated.

Indeed, 50 miles away, a task force of three hundred men is preparing to cross into Germany. With camps up and down the line, what makes Hammelburg so special they don't know, but orders are orders. Yet their hopes of evading the enemy quickly evaporate. Wracked by poor judgment, insufficient arms, and bad luck, the raid unravels with shattering losses. The liberation inmates hoped for becomes a struggle for survival marked by a stark choice: stay, or risk escaping into danger-while leaving some behind.

For Curtis, the decision is an even more personal test of loyalty, friendship, and the values for which one will die or kill. It will be another twenty years before the unsanctioned mission's secret motivation becomes public knowledge, creating a controversy that will forever color Patton's legacy and linger on in the lives of those who made it home at last-and the loved ones of those who did not.

©2019 James D. Shipman (P)2019 Recorded Books

What listeners say about Task Force Baum

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.