Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £17.99

Buy Now for £17.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

This is the story of a great love - a love that will threaten worlds and anger Gods.

This is a story that will change history.

Simidele is one of the Mami Wata, mermaids duty-bound to collect the souls of those who die at sea and bless their journeys back home to the Supreme Creator.

But when a living boy is thrown overboard a slave ship, Simi saves his life, going against an ancient decree and bringing terrible danger to the mami wata.

Now Simi must journey to the Supreme Creator to make amends - a journey of vengeful gods, treacherous lands and legendary creatures. If she fails, she risks not just the fate of all Mami Wata, but also the world as she knows it.

An epic love story infused with West African mythology. For fans of The Gilded Ones, Children of Blood and Bone and Circe, this book is a powerful new imagining of one of history's darkest stories, told through the eyes of a bold and unforgettable heroine.

©2021 Natasha Bowen (P)2021 Penguin Audio

What listeners say about Skin of the Sea

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Magnificent

Love the story and the reference to a dark period of the African history but seen in another light.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Representative of ancient history

Love this book and can’t wait to do the sequel. So engaging and a definite re-read for me!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

really loved it.

it was an amazing story, so much cluture to learn about, looking forward to the sequel though I personally love mermaids I always have.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional

It’s my best book ever!! I pray God surprises with the opportunity to make a movie version. God bless your gift and continue to fulfil your purpose 🙏

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Yoruba phrases

I loved the story , the thought and research put into it. My one thought is that if the writer wants to carry on with African themes then it will be better to get an someone who speaks the actual language to say the phrase/s , if not then say them in English.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bravo for more diverse voices!

Brilliantly rich Young Adult fiction infused with West African mythology.
Representation matters! Finally the literary world is opening to the richness of our stories!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I really hope there's a sequel!

What an awesome book! Will definitely keep this author on my radar! Great story!

*Edit*
I seriously hope that there's a sequel in the works!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not predictable at all!

Such a great book. Read it! I don’t want to spoil it for you. You should definitely read it!