Listen free for 30 days

  • Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake: by the author of Boyfriend Material

  • Winner Bakes All, Book 1
  • By: Alexis Hall
  • Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
  • Length: 11 hrs and 22 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (34 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake: by the author of Boyfriend Material cover art

Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake: by the author of Boyfriend Material

By: Alexis Hall
Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

LGBTQ Reads: Most Anticipated Adult LGBTQAP Fiction 2021

We Are Bookish: Spring Releases to Have on Your Radar

A delicious romantic comedy by the best-selling author of Boyfriend Material, perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston, Christina Lauren and Abby Jimenez. 

As an expert baker, Rosaline Palmer is a big believer in always following the recipe. She's lived her life by that rule - well, except for when she dropped out of college to raise her daughter, Amelie. Now, with a paycheck as useful as greaseproof paper and a house crumbling faster than biscuits in tea, she's teetering on the edge of financial disaster. But where there's a whisk there's a way...and Rosaline has just landed a spot on the nation's most beloved baking show. 

Winning the prize money would give her daughter the life she deserves, but more than collapsing trifles stand between Rosaline and sweet, sweet victory. Suave, well-educated and parent-approved Alain Pope knows all the right moves to sweep her off her feet, but it's shy electrician Harry Dobson who makes Rosaline question her long-held beliefs - about herself, her family and her desires.

Rosaline fears falling for Harry is a recipe for disaster. Yet as the competition - and the ovens - heat up, Rosaline starts to realize the best quality bakes come from the heart....

©2021 Alexis Hall (P)2021 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"A dizzyingly talented writer." (Entertainment Weekly)

"Joyfully queer, absurdly funny and swoonily romantic." (K .J. Charles)

"Brilliance on every single page." (Christina Lauren)

"The writing is witty, and [the] chemistry is irresistible, but it's Hall's insights about trust and self-worth that set the story apart. This is a triumph." (Publishers Weekly)

"A tasty tale that most Bake Off fans could get their teeth into." (Sunday Post)

What listeners say about Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake: by the author of Boyfriend Material

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

It's ok.

Quit funny in places, quite enjoyable listen. Narrator is great. Would recommend, but its not worth the credit.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another hit from Alexis Hall!

I loved Boyfriend Material and thought to give this book a try due to that. Honestly not what I expected at all and it was very good! I raced through it and absolutely loved it! Would recommend to anyone who enjoys good LGBTQ+ representation and heartwarming romances

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A bake-off love story!

Though not quite as good as Boyfriend Material, it’s wonderful for what it is: a LGBTQ bake-off fan fiction with extra depth that does not back down from difficult subjects.
For me, it was perfect!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

🎧 I can't believe I forgot to review! 🎧

It's been months so the details have a faded a little but the utter joy of listening to this book is still as fresh as one of Rosaline's cakes!
Alexis Hall writes layered characters and wonderful stories.

Not to be missed!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

genuinely hilarious

I patiently waited for the release date knowing Alexis Hall would not disappoint. awesome characters as usual, the humility is great. Actually laughed out laud ... on a train... surrounded by bemused business types. the narration is spot on. if you enjoyed boyfriend material, Glitter Land and Waiting For The Flood, you'll live Rosaline's story.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fey Gilo
  • Fey Gilo
  • 20-05-21

Fantastic!!!!!!

This book is perfect! Honestly I loved everything about it. It’s low angst but not boring. It brings to life the GBB with out being GBB. Rosalind Palmer is fantastic but it’s the side characters that bring this book to life. Another brilliant book by Alexis Hall