Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Open House cover art

Open House

By: Jill Mansell
Narrated by: Julia Franklin
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £21.99

Buy Now for £21.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Open House is a deliciously engaging romantic novel from Jill Mansell, author of over 20 Sunday Times best sellers including The One You Really Want and Miranda's Big Mistake. For fans of Sophie Kinsella and Marian Keyes.

Nell O'Driscoll has known Marcus Kilburton for years - according to her diary, she even had a crush on him as a teenager. When he decides to open Kilburton Castle to the public, Nell takes a job as his assistant - and soon sparks are flying between them. But is Nell free to pursue Marcus when a figure from her past refuses to let go?

Meanwhile, Nell's best friend, Hetty Brewster, has other problems. Her husband has abandoned her for a bitchy but successful writer. Now the press is full of stories about the frumpy, boring wife losing out to a younger, slimmer model. But Hetty's about to get her chance for sweet revenge - if she can stop being a nice person long enough to take it!

©2003 Jill Mansell (P)2006 Isis Publishing Ltd
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

What listeners say about Open House

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable but ....

I did enjoy this story. Although very predictable as is most of Jill Mansell's stories, I found the narrator annoying. Her over pronunciation of certain words and names was grating at times.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A jolly good read!

very good read by Jill Mansell, well narrated
by Julia Franklin who manages to bring the characters to life.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

another hit.

as usual a good easy read from Jill Mansell . predictable but enough going on to keep you wanting to read more.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Slow start

Took a while to get into this one and initially didn’t like the voice of narrator but it slowly grew on me and I didn’t want to switch off

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Performance ruined it.

I think I will have enjoyed this book immensely - I just kept slipping to get past the performance. Still liked Petronella immensely.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous

A fabulously enchanting tale of villagers who run away from their troubles only to find it no good. Romantic and amusing.