Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Luckiest Girl Alive cover art

Luckiest Girl Alive

By: Jessica Knoll
Narrated by: Madeleine Maby
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

You can run from your past, but the truth will always find you.

Luckiest Girl Alive is an intense, compulsive debut thriller, described by Reese Witherspoon as 'the kind of book that grabs you and doesn't let go'.

Now a New York Times best seller and optioned for film by Reese Witherspoon and her production partner, Bruna Papandrea, in conjunction with Lionsgate Films.

Her perfect life is a perfect lie....

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll is an audacious debut thriller that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins and Jodi Picoult.

Ani FaNelli is the woman who has it all: the glamorous job, the designer wardrobe, the handsome and rich fiancé. But behind her sharp edges and meticulously crafted facade lies the darkest of pasts....

When a documentary producer invites Ani to tell her side of the chilling and violent incident that took place when she was a teenager at the prestigious Bradley school, she hopes it will be an opportunity to prove how far she's turned her life around since then. She'll even let the production company film her lavish wedding, the final step in her transformation. But as the wedding and filming converge, Ani's past threatens to come back and haunt her. And as her immaculate veneer starts to crack, she is forced to question: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for - or,will it, at long last, set Ani free?

©2015 Jessica Knoll (P)2015 Simon and Schuster US

Critic reviews

"…definitely, definitely read it."('Why you need to read Luckiest Girl Alive', Stylist Magazine)
"There’s a vogue at present for female narrators who seem designed to be utterly hateful and, at first, heroine Ani seems like a superficial Manhattan princess, interested only in designer labels and being the thinnest woman in the room. But, as this multi-layered thriller develops, the dark shadows from her traumatic adolescence are laid bare, and a brooding sense of impending horror begins to ooze through this narrative. Add a cracker of a plot revelation half way through, and it becomes clear that this classy debut will appeal to those who like thrillers with sharp edges." (‘Staying In or Going Out’, The Sunday Mirror)

What listeners say about Luckiest Girl Alive

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    155
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    59
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    17
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    160
  • 4 Stars
    87
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    12
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    135
  • 4 Stars
    83
  • 3 Stars
    47
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    13

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Summertime read.

Great narrator's voice, really suits the lead character. If you liked 'Gone Girl' and 'The Girl on the Train', you'll like this too.
Highly recommend.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Very Disappointing and nothing like Gone Girl

What disappointed you about Luckiest Girl Alive?

The book cover compares it with Flynn and Gone Girl, which this book is nowhere near. It does not have any twist at all. It's just a story about a very shallow character.If you are after a surprise ending, gripping read just skip this book, because it does not deliver a surprise end, any twist or a gripping story.

Has Luckiest Girl Alive put you off other books in this genre?

Yes.

What does Madeleine Maby bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

The performer was quite good. Maybe the only best thing about this audio book.

You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

I am sorry but I really didn't like it. I doubt anyone with a taste for fiction/literature will enjoy this book.

Any additional comments?

Honestly, I felt like I am tricked into a book which I’ll never pick up if it was not ‘compared’ to Gone Girl on the cover. Really disappointed.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprised by how good this book is.

I very rarely write reviews, but I just wanted to say how different this book is , how the hero is not always perfect, but sometimes shallow and maybe not very likeable, 'not the case for me'. I thought she was a brilliant character, so well thought and most of all very real. I would recommend this book to everybody.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A good holiday listen/read!

This was a good book to listen to on holiday. I had to speed up the reader slightly as I found it a little slow in pace.
The main character is deliciously hateful and really what kept me listening.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a great listen

Loved it. Tiffany seems to be an unlikeable character but her story is compulsive listening. I would definitely recommend it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Hard to empathise with main character

Is there anything you would change about this book?

For me the lead character would have to be more likeable

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The basic story line was good and the switching from past to present worked well

What does Madeleine Maby bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

I thought the narrator was excellent

Do you think Luckiest Girl Alive needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

No but I would try another novel by the same author

Any additional comments?

I enjoyed the narrative style but found the character of Tiffany/ Ani so unpleasant. I see a previous reviewer said she loved Tiffany so there we are, it's all up to you. It was a good premise for a novel although it was fairly easy to guess what was going to happen

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant !!

I loved Tiffany and her story brought me to tears at points. Very realistic and very true of this age character... Well done

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Great story, makes you want to keep listening. The performance is very good too.
Would recommend to other listeners.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Not what I expected. Pleasantly surprised with where the story went. One of my favourite books of the year.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Alexa!!

Narrated by Alexa! Horrendous characters. Really, don’t bother. I actually didn’t care what had occurred!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susy Sue
  • Susy Sue
  • 29-09-22

No worth my credit

A total waste of time!
Plain characters, and a story that started well, but that later was not interesting.
The ending is absolutely disappointing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nolene Summerton
  • Nolene Summerton
  • 04-11-20

So relevant for our time!

The narration was amazing!
The story was told in such a soul clenching manner that you could see all the scenarios play out in your mind!