Listen free for 30 days

  • Lie with Me

  • By: Sabine Durrant
  • Narrated by: Kirk Bage
  • Length: 8 hrs and 58 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (1,214 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The truth can be deadly....

The dazzling new suspense novel from the author of Remember Me This Way. Twisty, tense, impossible to turn off psychological suspense for fans of I Let You Go and The Widow.

It starts with a lie. The kind we've all told - to a former acquaintance we can't quite place but still, for some reason, feel the need to impress. The story of our life, embellished for the benefit of the happily married lawyer with the kids and the lovely home.

And the next thing you know, you're having dinner at their house and accepting an invitation to join them on holiday - swept up in their perfect life, the kind you always dreamed of....

Which turns out to be less than perfect. But by the time you're trapped and sweating in the relentless Greek sun, burning to escape the tension all around you - by the time you start to realise that however painful the truth might be, it's the lies that cause the real damage - well, by then it could just be too late.

©2016 Sabine Durrant (P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton

More from the same

What listeners say about Lie with Me

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    513
  • 4 Stars
    411
  • 3 Stars
    212
  • 2 Stars
    50
  • 1 Stars
    28
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    588
  • 4 Stars
    338
  • 3 Stars
    159
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    13
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    467
  • 4 Stars
    374
  • 3 Stars
    188
  • 2 Stars
    54
  • 1 Stars
    38

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

'At length the truth will out' Or will it?

Sabine Durrant's sinister slow-burner scores high for creating a vivid and mixed array of characters who, despite being an unpleasant lot, I found intriguing, mainly credible and involving. I was hooked by the story and enjoyed the increasingly uncomfortable sense of something dark going to happen.

Paul Morris is an arrogant womaniser, although he's frequently been too drunk to remember his conquests. He's also a liar and a loser. His writing career has flopped after one long- forgotten novel; he's lost his home, and his money has run out. But when he meets Andrew, an old university friend - one whom in truth he barely remembers and never liked - he is introduced to Alice and the circle of friends who holiday on Greece together each year. That's when the lies start - Paul makes up a West End apartment, American publishers vying for his latest novel - and he and Alice quickly become lovers. What could be more natural than Paul being included in the Greek holiday line-up?

The holiday makes for compulsive and unsettling listening as things go disconcertingly awry. Why are Alice and Andrew seemingly so close? Why is Alice so obsessed with the disappearance of a 14 year-old girl on the Greek island years before? Why did Alice lie about her teenage son being brought back to the holiday villa dead drunk in the early hours?
Paul becomes increasingly uneasy himself, but every doubt seems to have a simple answer - until a young tourist on the island is raped after a night out. Even worse follows, and the police are involved. This is a mystery-thriller well rooted in everyday reality which makes the listening compelling and rewarding, and it also has a strong cautionary tale element about lying as Paul becomes enmeshed in the tangle of his own web of self-aggrandising lies.

The very competent narrator helps the story glide along, and Lie with Me gets full marks for its gripping story, for the intricate details of its plot and for Durrant's classy, fluent writing. I didn't give the story a full 5 because although the resolution of the plot has a good shock element, if you think about it in any depth, it raises just too many questions about credibility. But never mind, this is a great listen!

23 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MR
  • 16-07-16

brilliant!

As soon as I started this, I was hooked. Narrator perfect in role. Dark story, impending doom feeling from start to finish, redemption too late etc. would recommend to anyone.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very cleverly observed and put together.

Very cleverly put together, quite a frightening idea. I really enjoyed this book and it was well read.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Lie with me

When I thought the description sounded promising, I checked the reviews - there were none!
Surprising as there were many ratings - indeed averaging 4+stArs.
I took a chance and do not regret the credit. Increasingly uncomfortable atmosphere and credible narration.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must listen...

Pleasantly surprised as how much I enjoyed this book. I do recommend it for an easy listen.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Could not stop listening

The first time I had heard a book by this author. I love the way this book is written.. The descriptive language is fantastic. The narrator is also great. My only criticism is the end of the book was disappointing.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unusual thriller; slow burner

Struggled to get into this novel at first as the main character is a bit of a creep. However, the last few hours were really gripping. I loved Sabine Durrant's last two books but whilst this one is good it is my least favourite of her novels.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Compelling listening

Would you consider the audio edition of Lie with Me to be better than the print version?

It was wonderfully narrated, it gave depth to the storyline

What other book might you compare Lie with Me to, and why?

It is similar to many books in that it slowly reveals it's characters as harbouring dark secrets and lies and ultimately being different people from the ones portrayed at the start of the book.

What about Kirk Bage’s performance did you like?

He managed to tell the story and convey beautifully an undercurrent of something sinister.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

No, I just enjoyed the story

Any additional comments?

Well worth a listen, although a stronger finish would have been more satisfying.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just finished for 3rd time!

I absolutely love this book. It's beautifully crafted and the deception so cleverly subtle that it takes your breath away when you realise the extent of it...definitely listen to it!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Atmospheric!

Lie with me, has all the components of 'hook and twist' the story flows and paints such a graphic picture of its characters, surroundings and malice throughout. Excellently narrated!

8 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hiliary
  • Hiliary
  • 11-06-17

Narrator makes this

I was confused by the narrator at first but after the first chapter it totally made sense. Loved it. The story was ok but probably wouldn't have finished it except for the narrator was SO GOOD.