Listen free for 30 days

  • Lie Beside Me

  • The Wild Fens Murder Mystery Series, Book 7
  • By: Jack Cartwright
  • Narrated by: Graham Mack
  • Length: 10 hrs and 58 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (27 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Lie Beside Me cover art

Lie Beside Me

By: Jack Cartwright
Narrated by: Graham Mack
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A life built on lies crumbles, fades, and dies.

When a man’s body is discovered at the crumbled ruins of Tupholme Abbey, laid bare across a pile of tumbled stones, DI Freya Bloom and her team are called to investigate. Only hours into the investigation Freya makes a discovery that changes everything, and the open and shut case she had hoped for was clearly going to be complex.

But when one of her most reliable officers falls victim to a serious crime, and a new team member causes a disturbance, Freya finds the officers she had come to know and love at odds with each other–the unit is falling apart, and all the while a killer is on the loose.

With the team divided, and their prime suspect missing, Freya must do what she does best. She must lead by example, playing each of them off the other in a monumental battle of wits and courage. The stakes are high, and the risks are great but there can be only one outcome–the killer must be caught, whatever the cost.

Can Freya find the strength to hold her team together? Can she outsmart the best detectives she’s ever worked with? And can she find the killer before they strike again?

Lie Beside Me is the seventh chilling crime thriller in the brand-new British murder mystery series from USA Today best-selling author, Jack Cartwright. The Wild Fens Murder Mysteries are perfect for fans of JM Dalgliesh, Rachel McClean, Ann Cleeves, and Simon McCleave.

©2022 Jack Cartwright (P)2022 Jack Cartwright

What listeners say about Lie Beside Me

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

male or female

I was hoping for a better story I have read or listen to {i should say} all of this series only to find out a real nonsence of a one sided police force, or should say one that is run by women and the men being to made a fool of. I was hoping for a change during the serial but to my disgust it got worse. I live on the fens and thankfully the main serious crime squads are run by senior police officers. The amount of murders in these books would have been run by a senior officer bought in by the met/ Unfortunately the author seems to be out of touch with these facts shame could have been a recommended series but alas have to say read heard better from more professional male writers

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The ending is just magic still laughing now😀

Graham Mack is a great narrator, but he honestly has great material to work with in this book, the comic duo of Guillespe and Cruz are great, and the feminist angle regarding an occurrence regarding one of the female officers was very good. But the ending is one that will live long in the memory for its brilliance, just wonderfully done.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable but …

Enjoyable but definitely a bit drawn out two main characters, will they won’t they into book seven