Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £9.99

Buy Now for £9.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Hare House is not its real name, of course. I have, if you will forgive me, kept names to a minimum here, for reasons that will become understandable....

In the first brisk days of autumn, a woman arrives in Scotland having left her job at an all-girls school in London in mysterious circumstances. Moving into a cottage on the remote estate of Hare House, she begins to explore her new home—a patchwork of hills, moorland and forest. But among the tiny roads, dykes and scattered houses, something more sinister lurks: local tales of witchcraft, clay figures and young men sent mad.

Striking up a friendship with her landlord, Grant, and his younger sister, Cass, she begins to suspect that all might not be quite as it seems at Hare House. And as autumn turns to winter, and a heavy snowfall traps the inhabitants of the estate within its walls, tensions rise to fever pitch.

Sally Hinchcliffe’s Hare House is a modern-day witch story, perfect for fans of Pine and The Loney.

©2022 Sally Hinchcliffe (P)2022 Macmillan Publishers International Limited

Critic reviews

"A beautiful, slow burn of a novel, eerie and shimmering in equal measure." (Mary Paulson-Ellis)

"Deliciously chilly." (Guardian)

"Humming with suppressed hysteria and madness." (The Times

"Wonderfully evocative." (Heat

What listeners say about Hare House

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intriguing and atmospheric

Gothic isn’t the right word for this curious and intriguing book as it is so understated yet completely atmospheric and gripping. The underlying witch element is handled with a lightness of touch contrasted against the unfolding of the story of the central protagonist’s experience of a strange incident from her past when she was a teacher in a girl’s’ school. I loved the evocative language which transported me to this remote part of Scotland and the beautiful narration. I heartily recommend it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intriguing story

I really enjoyed this book, in fact I’m going to listen to it again now. There are layers and depth to the characters and story that I want to appreciate more.
It’s well read and a gripping listen from beginning to end.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hare House

Rather a good gothic horror story in a modern setting a la Robert Louis Stevenson

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Nothing really happened….

I’ve just finished this book, & I just feel a bit flat really…..nothing really happened! There wasn’t the suspense that I had hoped for at all! Although it is beautifully written & the narrator was very good, I definitely feel disappointed.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Hare House Review

I heard this book described as Scottish gothic on a BBC Scotland radio programme. However I found it disappointing and at times irritating. The plot is weak and characters unconvincing. I finished it in the hope that there might be an interesting twist at the end but that didn't happen.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Slow and not very thrilling

Nothing much happens. Struggled to contain my boredom sadly. The performance and Scottish accents were great tho.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Can’t go on…

Boring, nothing happens!!! Lots of supposedly spooky, melodramatic nonsense. Don’t waste your credit - asking for a refund

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Just OK

The story is good but not particularly well written. It feels like it's still one edit away from finished. On the plus side it's very visual and I imagine would make a good TV adaptation I also enjoy a story that doesn't lead you by the nose. The narrator does a good job but sounds a lot younger than the character which jars a bit.

Look out for overuse of the following phrases;
Bent her head
Sheen of sweat
Low energy lightbulbs
she fell in beside me (especially noteworthy in a pondside scene)

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not sure about the end

I enjoyed the book but I am left a bit unsure about what the actual story was about, witches possibly but it didn’t seem to come to a proper conclusion

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-04-22

Not what I was expecting

Narator did a amazing job. Story was alright. Was expecting someting different. More supernatural.