Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Girl Mans Up

  • By: M-E Girard
  • Narrated by: Emma Galvin
  • Length: 9 hrs and 32 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (16 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Girl Mans Up cover art

Girl Mans Up

By: M-E Girard
Narrated by: Emma Galvin
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

This Is Falling cover art
Little & Lion cover art
Swim the Fly cover art
This Lullaby cover art
Saving Zoe cover art
Reviving Kendall cover art
Some Boys cover art
Ella's Twisted Senior Year cover art
Rebel cover art
Call the Shots cover art
Noggin cover art
Beat the Band cover art
Sway cover art
Denton Little's Deathdate cover art
Hate List cover art
Someone I Used to Know cover art

Summary

Lambda Literary Award Winner!

“Pen is an inspiration to anyone who’s struggled to be understood, and a vital addition to the growing world of genderqueer protagonists.” (New York Times Book Review)

All Pen wants is to be the kind of girl she's always been. So why does everyone have a problem with it?

They think the way she looks and acts means she's trying to be a boy - that she should quit trying to be something she's not. If she dresses like a girl and does what her folks want, it will show respect. If she takes orders and does what her friend, Colby, wants, it will show her loyalty.

But respect and loyalty, Pen discovers, are empty words. Old-world parents, disintegrating friendships, and strong feelings for other girls drive Pen to see the truth - that in order to be who she truly wants to be, she'll have to man up.

M. E. Girard’s Girl Mans Up is perfect for fans of Meredith Russo, Becky Albertalli, Alex Sanchez, and Jaye Robin Brown!

Entertainment Weekly Best YA Book of 2016 * Children’s Book Council Books Best Book of 2016 * Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Coming-of-Age Novel of 2016 and Best Teen Book of 2016 with Unforgettable Protagonists * Publishers Weekly Fall 2016 Flying Starts * William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist

©2016 M-E Girard (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about Girl Mans Up

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved everything about it

I loved everything about this book. It's such an honest look at teenage life with the added bonus of the lead character being a butch lesbian.
It covers really serious topics and also the struggles that can come with identifying 'differently.'
Pen's growth through the book is a joy to watch, the flirting and relationship sections are just perfect, the evolution of her friendships and the adjustment of her moral compass are so interesting.
I cannot praise this book highly enough & I wish it had been released when I was a teenager. 

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!