Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Do Not Feed the Bear cover art

Do Not Feed the Bear

By: Rachel Elliott
Narrated by: Elliot Fitzpatrick,Esther Wane
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Who Do You Think You Are Maggie Pink? cover art
Flamingo cover art
The Kindness Project cover art
The Beach Hut cover art
On Hampstead Heath cover art
Finding Love at Mermaid Terrace cover art
Creatures of Passage cover art
Who Do You Love cover art
The Truth Lies Buried cover art
The Lost Girls of Ireland cover art
One Summer cover art
Life's What You Make It cover art
Everyday Kindness cover art
Friends Like Us cover art
The Other Son cover art
Looking for Eliza cover art

Summary

A life-affirming novel of love, loss and letting go - for fans of Eleanor Oliphant, The Trouble with Goats and Sheep and When God Was a Rabbit.

On her 47th birthday, Sydney Smith stands on a rooftop and prepares to jump.... 

Sydney is a cartoonist and freerunner. Feet constantly twitching, always teetering on the edge of life, she's never come to terms with the event that ripped her family apart when she was 10 years old. And so, on a birthday that she doesn't want to celebrate, she returns alone to St Ives to face up to her guilt and grief. It's a trip that turns out to be life-changing - and not only for herself.

Do Not Feed the Bear is a book about lives not yet lived, about the kindness of others and about how, when our worlds stop, we find a way to keep on moving. 

©2019 Rachel Elliott (P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about Do Not Feed the Bear

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The next lovely book you are looking for...

This is such a wonderful book - a joy to listen to. Really well read by the narrators. The story pulls you in right from the beginning, making you chuckle all through the first chapter and as it tipped into second chapter I was hooked! There are so many wonderful characters really well woven together about whom you want to hear more as the book progresses. You find yourself really caring about what happens to them. I absolutely loved it. A real find of a book!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Beautiful Story!

This is a forever book; one you keep dipping into over and over again, and each time taking something new from it. I loved this book and felt so sad when it ended. It spoke to me in so many ways. A truly beautiful book!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Uplifting

Uplifting without being cheesy. Quirky people finding each other. Love this author. Narration also excellent.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!