Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A dark, gripping story of love and obsession from best-selling author Marina Fiorato, perfect for fans of The Crimson Petal and The White.

London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for - she is a penniless prostitute, newly evicted from her home and pregnant. On the night she plans to cast herself from Waterloo Bridge into the icy waters of the Thames, her life is saved by Francis Maybrick Gill, a talented pre-Raphaelite painter - and her world is changed forever.

Francis takes Annie as his artist's muse, elevating her from fallen woman to society's darling. With her otherworldly beauty now the toast of London, her dark past is left far behind. But Annie's lavish new life is not all is seems - and there are some who won't let her forget where she came from....

©2017 Marina Fiorato (P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What listeners say about Crimson and Bone

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

lve listened to this book over and over again. lve marvelled at the characters, the stories, the perfect way it unfolded, like one of Annie's crimson cloaks, or the way Mary Jane's past weaves through Annie's story like a very real wraith. You know what happened to her almost from the start, but throughout the story, she is so very alive and vibrant.
clair Corbett's narration is simply perfect, catching the heart of the stories and lighting them for our perfect appreciation. lf nothing else - which l doubt - it should make you want to visit a pre Rapharlite exhibition, though l doubt if you'll ever be able to see all those women in the same way ever again.
lt's wonderful to hear a writer evolve. l liked the authors earlier books, but they lacked the depth, emotion and meticulous attention to detail this one carries. lt's beautiful, frightening, sad, deeply poignant.
And it's a love story in so many ways. Not merely flesh and blood, but the love the author has for her roots under an Italian sun, or storm. And of course, the love she has for the paintings. But it doesn't matter whether you like or loathe the pre Raphaelites. The paintings are part of the backdrop for the story, and my lord, it's a good one

1 person found this helpful