Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £25.99

Buy Now for £25.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

Number one New York Times best-selling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of Ninth House and The Night Circus.

In Charlie Hall's world, shadows can be altered, for entertainment and cosmetic preferences—but also to increase power and influence. You can alter someone's feelings—and memories—but manipulating shadows has a cost, with the potential to take hours or days from your life. Your shadow holds all the parts of you that you want to keep hidden—a second self, standing just to your left, walking behind you into lit rooms.

And sometimes, it has a life of its own.

Charlie is a low-level con artist, working as a bartender while trying to distance herself from the powerful and dangerous underground world of shadow trading. She gets by doing odd jobs for her patrons and the naïve new money in her town at the edge of the Berkshires.

But when a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie's present life is thrown into chaos and her future seems at best, unclear—and at worst, non-existent. Determined to survive, Charlie throws herself into a maelstrom of secrets and murder, setting her against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, shadow thieves and her own sister—all desperate to control the magic of the shadows.

With sharp angles and prose, and a sinister bent, Holly Black is a master of shadow and story stitching. Remember while you listen, light isn't playing tricks in Book of Night, the people are.

©2022 Holly Black (P)2022 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

"Black is a master at world-building." (The New York Times Book Review)

"No one writes like Holly Black." (John Green, number one New York Times best-selling author)

What listeners say about Book of Night

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Couldn't finish

I have loved Holly Black since I first read Tithe at the age of 16, so I was so excited, as a now 34 year old, to read her first adult novel.

The concept of this book sounded so interesting to me, so I went into fully engaged and enthusiastic. unfortunately I just couldn't get into it, I didn't mind the narration, but the plot was very slow, it just didn't pull me in, something I've never had any trouble with other books she's done. I may try and give this another go in the future, but for now I just couldn't finish it as I realised I just didn't care about the characters at all. such a shame.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

Really wanted to love this, but didn’t. I think Holly Black is an amazingly talented writer, normally I find her characters complex, compelling & memorable, but this whole book just felt flat to me. There didn’t seem to be any development of the world the story was set in, nor the characters themselves. I didn’t like the main character, not because she was particularly unlikable, just because there wasn’t enough substance to particularly like or dislike. Very unusual for this writer, I’m normally even intrigued by her “baddies!”
I chewed through to the end though, thinking I’d at least had closure to the story, but unfortunately it was clearly a setup to allow this to become a series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A slow start, but persevere

A good story with very successful narration. It merely takes time until it becomes captivating.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Holly Black does it once again!!

amazing narration! amazing story. took me a while to understand all the different shadow categories. Such a unique story. I loved the protagonist Charlie, fell in love with Vince but couldn't stand her sister Posies character, annoying little sister. Can't wait for whatever book comes next. sexy dark and amazing. Once you get the hang of it easy to follow the story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unique story!

Having read books by Holly Black I knew I wouldn't be disappointed. What a unique story she has crafted, which the narrator does a good job in telling.
It did take me until halfway through the book before I really got into this, due to the world and character building. Then suddenly the story line progresses interestingly and at a fast pace.
I certainly will purchase the next book to find out what happens.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved it

Wasn't too sure about this book at the start but really enjoyed it. A weird and enjoyable premise for a strange and unusual story. It was just a bit too short! I hope she does another as I found myself really wanting to know what comes next! The narration was great for the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it.

I loved the plot and the development of characters. I look forward to the next one!!