Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Body Language cover art

Body Language

By: A. K. Turner
Narrated by: Ellie Kendrick
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £28.00

Buy Now for £28.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Dentist cover art
There's Something I Have to Tell You cover art
A Long Time Dead cover art
Before He Kills Again cover art
The Viaduct Killings cover art
First Blood cover art
A Litter of Bones: A Scottish Crime Thriller cover art
My Sister's Secret cover art
The Missing Ones cover art
The Murder cover art
Misplaced Loyalty cover art
Six cover art
Silent Cry cover art
See Them Run cover art
The Murder Mile cover art
Sleep Tight cover art

Summary

The dead can talk - we just need to listen....

Camden mortuary assistant Cassie Raven has pretty much seen it all. But this is the first time she's come face to face with someone she knew on the slab. Someone she cared about. 

Geraldine Edwards, the teacher responsible for her returning to education after she got ensnared in a life of drugs. The woman who acted as a second mother to the orphaned Cassie. 

Deeply intuitive and convinced that she can pick up the last thoughts of the dead, Cassie senses that there must be more to the ruling of an accidental death. With Mrs E's evasive son demanding the release of his mother's body, Cassie knows that time is running out to find answers. Is her grief making her see things that aren't there? Or is her intuition right, and there's something more sinister to Mrs E's death than the ME thinks? Harbouring an innate distrust of the police, Cassie sets out to investigate the death and deliver justice for the woman who saved her life. 

For fans of Elly Griffiths' Ruth Galloway series and Kathy Reichs' Temperance Brennan comes a new heroine for forensic medicine

©2020 A. K. Turner (P)2020 Bonnier Books Ltd

Critic reviews

"Spellbinding storytelling." (Val McDermid)  

"A first-rate crime novel.... I loved it." (Elly Griffiths)

"One of the best series openers I've read in years." (Jane Casey)

What listeners say about Body Language

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    329
  • 4 Stars
    92
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    317
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    300
  • 4 Stars
    85
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent mystery

This proved a real surprise and an excellent mystery with an unusual lead in Cassie Raven. A promising start to a new series

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A+++ narrator. Very entertaining

I couldn't put down. Ellie Kendrick delivers superbly. An unusual storyline but not too incredible

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

review body language

Loved it, looking forward to the next one .Reading.was excellent and contributed greatly to enjoyment

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I actually went to bed early!

I usually like to listen to an audible book for about an hour to settle me down for sleep. I was enjoying this story so much I actually went to be earlier so I could listen to this book!
I hope that there are more books with these characters in them.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyable

Cassie Raven is a rebel, but a very likeable rebel . She is settled in her job at Camden mortuary, she cares for the dead and they tell her their secrets. When the body of her friend and teacher, Mrs E, is brought into the mortuary Cassie feels that something is very, very wrong especially after meeting Mrs E’s estranged son. Convinced that the police will not take her seriously Cassie is determined to investigate on her own. Will she find out the truth or has she stepped into something more deadly than she realises? Excellent characters and a great story, really enjoyable.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unexpectedly good and different

What a treat to discover a new author with a very new and different story. The narration was very good too.
I will certainly be checking out more books by A K.Turner.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Original concept, very interesting

Original concept, it was a really interesting story and Cassie was a wonderfully complex character

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Different in a good way

Thought the narrator was annoying at first but got better and began to enjoy it and she suited the character and was also very good at the other character voices. Story was a bit different and enjoyed it very much would recommend

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I managed half

...before I returned this book. I'm not sure why the very high ratings (although only 2 reviews written). I wasn't particularly gripped by the story and found the descriptions of body parts and post mortems a little boring. Unfortunately I didn't enjoy the narrator's voice either.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous book

A first for this author for me and it did not disappoint.
Also the narration was superb.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful