Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £34.99

Buy Now for £34.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The dead can talk - we just need to listen....

Camden mortuary assistant Cassie Raven has pretty much seen it all. But this is the first time she's come face to face with someone she knew on the slab. Someone she cared about. 

Geraldine Edwards, the teacher responsible for her returning to education after she got ensnared in a life of drugs. The woman who acted as a second mother to the orphaned Cassie. 

Deeply intuitive and convinced that she can pick up the last thoughts of the dead, Cassie senses that there must be more to the ruling of an accidental death. With Mrs E's evasive son demanding the release of his mother's body, Cassie knows that time is running out to find answers. Is her grief making her see things that aren't there? Or is her intuition right, and there's something more sinister to Mrs E's death than the ME thinks? Harbouring an innate distrust of the police, Cassie sets out to investigate the death and deliver justice for the woman who saved her life. 

For fans of Elly Griffiths' Ruth Galloway series and Kathy Reichs' Temperance Brennan comes a new heroine for forensic medicine

©2020 A. K. Turner (P)2020 Bonnier Books Ltd

Critic reviews

"Spellbinding storytelling." (Val McDermid)  

"A first-rate crime novel.... I loved it." (Elly Griffiths)

"One of the best series openers I've read in years." (Jane Casey)

What listeners say about Body Language

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    132
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    120
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    115
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent mystery

This proved a real surprise and an excellent mystery with an unusual lead in Cassie Raven. A promising start to a new series

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A+++ narrator. Very entertaining

I couldn't put down. Ellie Kendrick delivers superbly. An unusual storyline but not too incredible

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

review body language

Loved it, looking forward to the next one .Reading.was excellent and contributed greatly to enjoyment

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyable

Cassie Raven is a rebel, but a very likeable rebel . She is settled in her job at Camden mortuary, she cares for the dead and they tell her their secrets. When the body of her friend and teacher, Mrs E, is brought into the mortuary Cassie feels that something is very, very wrong especially after meeting Mrs E’s estranged son. Convinced that the police will not take her seriously Cassie is determined to investigate on her own. Will she find out the truth or has she stepped into something more deadly than she realises? Excellent characters and a great story, really enjoyable.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unexpectedly good and different

What a treat to discover a new author with a very new and different story. The narration was very good too.
I will certainly be checking out more books by A K.Turner.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I actually went to bed early!

I usually like to listen to an audible book for about an hour to settle me down for sleep. I was enjoying this story so much I actually went to be earlier so I could listen to this book!
I hope that there are more books with these characters in them.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I managed half

...before I returned this book. I'm not sure why the very high ratings (although only 2 reviews written). I wasn't particularly gripped by the story and found the descriptions of body parts and post mortems a little boring. Unfortunately I didn't enjoy the narrator's voice either.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well read good performance

enjoyed the story well read would read more from this author worth a listen enjoyed

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Different in a good way

Thought the narrator was annoying at first but got better and began to enjoy it and she suited the character and was also very good at the other character voices. Story was a bit different and enjoyed it very much would recommend

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Strangly interesting

once you get into the book you can't put it down.( or stop listening!!).
In my opinion the characters are well developed..
The story kept me on my toes
The subject was interesting.