Listen free for 30 days

Bob Mortimer & Paul Whitehouse cover art

Bob Mortimer & Paul Whitehouse

By: Holly Newson
Narrated by: Bob Mortimer,Paul Whitehouse

Listeners also enjoyed...

And Away... cover art
Me cover art
The Fast Show cover art
The Sound of Laughter cover art
Alan Partridge: Big Beacon cover art
Mack the Life cover art
From the Oasthouse: The Alan Partridge Podcast (Series 1) cover art
Windswept & Interesting cover art
Fight! cover art
Rambling Man cover art
Alan Partridge: Nomad cover art
James Acaster's Classic Scrapes cover art
This Much Is True cover art
Thanks for Nothing cover art
Ramble Book cover art
The Life of Lee cover art

Summary

Joining us at Audible Studios are Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse, lifelong friends, fans of fishing, and well-known comedians.  

When life got in the way of Mortimer and Whitehouse's friendship, they found their connection dwindled to occasional catch ups and one-off phone calls. Then, conveniently, they were both diagnosed with heart disease! And they realised life is short, and they should spend it together, doing what they love: fishing.  

Following the success of their BBC series, Gone Fishing, Mortimer and Whitehouse have created an audiobook of the same name, which is their love letter to the joys of angling and the simple wonder of just having a laugh with your mates.  

We spoke to Mortimer and Whitehouse about going off script to record the audiobook, how chatting about their health has got others talking, the importance of silence, wildlife loving Bob, Paul bumping into otters, the wisdom of Paul Daniels, Bob’s expertise on white goods...and the list goes on.  

Listen to Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing here.
©2019 Audible Ltd (P)2019 Audible Ltd

What listeners say about Bob Mortimer & Paul Whitehouse

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    588
  • 4 Stars
    91
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    491
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    447
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Legends

Two legends, Absolutely brilliant from start to finish. I would definitely
highly recommend to everyone

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect

I'm afraid that if you don't find this little snippet hugely enjoyable and uplifting then we can no longer be friends. Sorry.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Good intro interview for book

We love the series! Gone onto wishlist. Two funny blokes, telling you how they got to be

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Two Very Funny Fishers

absolutely brilliant. those two are funny without even trying. (or were they trying) just a natural couple of comics.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So funny

Can’t wait to listen to there book , love bin and Paul very good stuff definitely recommend

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

so funny

hilarious to listen too, love gone fishing so most definitely get the audible book

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Will always be hilarious.

Fans of Bob and Paul will love this. They will be amusing to the end of time.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hilarious as always

This is a brilliant listen. You can tell there is genuine love between them. I don’t know why Bob is so random but he is, and it works, and I love it

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listening on my way to work

they give a great insight into their friendship and fishing.great listen and well put together

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Loved it, two of the best comedians on the telly, could listen to them for hours

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nick Fletcher
  • Nick Fletcher
  • 01-07-19

Great, but where's the book?!!

i really enjoyed this as i'm a big fan of these two guys. they're both very funny and have a meaningful reason for putting this tv show and book together - they both are recovering from treatment for heart disease.
At the end of this interview the announcer says the book is available for download but it isn't
(at least not in the usa) with there's no indication or information if it ever will be!
anything you can tell us Audible usa?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TJ
  • TJ
  • 02-02-21

I could listen to these two goons all day.

Five out of five stars, yeah? Loved this little extra interview with Pob and Baul.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. Willis
  • C. Willis
  • 02-02-20

Great camaraderie

If you’ve watched the TV show then you’ll know what to expect here. Just 30 minutes whets the palette, but the Gone Fishing audiobook is not available!! What’s going on?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!