Listen free for 30 days

  • Axe to Grind

  • A British Crime Thriller (DCI Pilgrim Crime Thriller, Book 1)
  • By: A L Fraine
  • Narrated by: Duncan Galloway
  • Length: 4 hrs and 54 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (28 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Axe to Grind cover art

Axe to Grind

By: A L Fraine
Narrated by: Duncan Galloway
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £11.99

Buy Now for £11.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Complete DCI Pilgrim cover art
Grimm Up North cover art
The Landscape of Death cover art
A Litter of Bones: A Scottish Crime Thriller cover art
A Long Time Dead cover art
False Start cover art
The Hope That Kills cover art
The Engine House: A Black Beacons Murder Mystery cover art
The Fallen cover art
The Bonnie Dead cover art
The Dead of Midwinter cover art
Dark Is the Grave cover art
The Corfe Castle Murders cover art
The Lost Girls of Penzance cover art
Detective Tom Janssen Hidden Norfolk, Books 1-3 cover art
Silent Tide cover art

Summary

A murdered woman, a haunted detective, and a killer with an axe to grind. 

A woman is slaughtered in vicious attack, and left in an abandoned building, handcuffed to a chair. 

Invited by a former colleague to join a new team in the South of England, DCI Jon Pilgrim takes on the case of the murdered young woman. Partnered with the captivating DS Kate O’Connell, they hunt for the killer. 

The victims links to the local gangs seems to lead to an open and shut case, but Jon isn’t convinced. The killer seems to be sending a message. But what is it? 

Just as things seem to be making sense, another body is found in a similar state.

This victim seems unrelated to the first, but it’s clearly the same killer.

Jon must deal with gang bosses, jealous partners, and come to terms with his own tragic past to find the killer before the death toll rises.
But as things escalate, Jon fears the past is about to repeat itself, and tear him apart. 

Axe to Grind is a pulse-pounding new thriller from author A L Fraine. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, JD Kirk, JM Dalgliesh, and Ian Rankin. 

©2019, 2020, 2021 Andrew Dobell (P)2022 Andrew Dobell

What listeners say about Axe to Grind

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Narrator is terrible and the story is too short.

Let's be clear here, this is not a novel, it's a short story (by King's standards) or a novella if we want to glorify it, but the fact remains that this is a very short story, it's not bad, as crime thrillers go, but it's brevity works against it and the narrator kills any other positive factors about this story with his terrible monotonous reading.

I do not recommend this unless you're desperate to be rid of a credit.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Twists and turns

Life for DCI is not a happy one, trying to follow a ruthless serial killer is not easily one murdering young woman faster than they can keep up, all very interesting and well narrated which always helps.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Story well written and great narration

I was given this free review copy at my request and have voluntarily left this review.
Story well written and great narration.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Descent Story well narrated

A good Police procedural. A fast paced story generally well written. I found some of the dialogue felt a little off. But apart from that this was a enjoyable listen, it quickly finds its pace, has an interesting premise, good characters there is more to learn about in future stories. and an excellent climax. I liked the narration, the voice was easy to listen to and clear, the accents were generally good although they slip a little now and again. I found this an enjoyable way to spend a few hours. I received a complimentary copy from the narrator and am leaving a honest voluntary review.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Too much too soon

Although this was a good novel, it seemed too much, too soon. I will reserve my judgment until the next ..Thank

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

New series

Really enjoyed this first book in a series. Although this book is fairly short it packed in plenty of action. The story was entertaing with a thrilling finale. The main characters are likeable and realistic, and there was a bit of romance thrown into the mix. Looking forward to listening to book 2.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Absolutely brilliant - story and narration

I listened to this and got really involved with the story. The narration really added to the story. The background also added to the story and set it up for the next book in the series.

Fully recommend

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Yes yes and YES!

I really enjoyed this book and it’s so good to hear a crime book based in the UK instead of the cliche american locations!!

The character build up was great and it kept me guessing all the way until the end of the book. I would recommend this book to anyone who fancies a good listen!

The narrator really suited the characters to!

I will be keeping an eye out for more books in this series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dark in places but a great read

This book started slowly but soon had me hooked. A little gory in places but nothing too terrible. Great interaction between characters and a clever plot that kept me guessing.

Narration was excellent and was great to listen to while driving my van between businesses. Made the day pass quicker and more pleasantly. Looking forward to the next in the series and I've since listened to the previous Kate O'Connell series too.

I received a free copy of this audiobook either from the narrator and am voluntarily writing an honest and unbiased review.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Enjoyed

Enjoyable listen, well written and good narrating. I would definitely listen to the next book in the series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful