Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Stalking, addiction and obsession - Detective Claire Boyle returns in this gripping new psychological thriller from Sinead Crowley, for fans of Patricia Gibney and Angela Marsons.

Dear Elizabeth, I've been watching you. I hope to see you...soon. 

Liz Cafferky is on the up. Rescued from her dark past by the owner of a drop-in centre for older men, Liz soon finds herself as the charity's face - and the unwilling darling of the Dublin media. Amidst her claustrophobic fame, Liz barely notices a letter from a new fan. 

But then one of the centre's clients is brutally murdered, and Elizabeth receives another, more sinister note. Running from her own ghosts, Liz is too scared to go to the police. And with no leads, there is little Sergeant Claire Boyle can do to protect her.

©2015 Sinead Crowley (P)2015 WF Howes

Critic reviews

"Compulsively readable...an absorbing variation on the 'domestic noir' genre." (Irish Times)

"A crackingly paced thriller, featuring a totally believable female detective." (Sunday Mirror)

What listeners say about Are You Watching Me?

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant story

Highly recommended. Atmospheric, compelling and beautifully observed, Sinead Crowley proves her first book wasn't a one off wonder. Let's hope there's more!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Deadly Dublin

I enjoyed this well narrated thriller not least because I know Dublin City very well so I could follow the action in my mind's eye. The two main characters leading the investigation are well-rounded and convincing as well as being complimentary in mind set and approach. There is a home in Dublin which has been set up to welcome men in difficulty especially older men whether they be homeless or not. When one of the regulars is found brutally murdered in his home this sets off a chain of events which will uncover base greed and corruption of various noteworthies. Meanwhile the young woman who is employed at the home herself an ex drug addict, appears on television to further the cause but unknowingly she will gain an admirer who has unfortunate connections.
Enjoyable read and I would read another by this author to see how the writing progresses.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A gripping read/listen

Any additional comments?

This is a gripping tale that maintains a sense of menace throughout. It's well written, the characters have depth and it's easy to identify with many of them. Excellent narration. Recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too slow

Didn't enjoy this book, I could leave it for days and pick it up again, did grip me at any stage

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brett McAteer
  • Brett McAteer
  • 06-03-19

Fantastic!!

I really got into this book. Sinead is a very visual writer so you can create mental images of the various scenes. Aoife does a great job bringing the individual characters to life. She's an exceptional story teller. I'm looking forward to starting book 3.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Daisey
  • Daisey
  • 14-02-21

Flat, Dragged

Aoife McMahon is a wonderful narrator and this was why I chose this book. But the character development was not good, the story line was flat, a lot of too long descriptions of unnecessary things, and way too many characters. Hard to follow..

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Valerie D
  • Valerie D
  • 06-10-20

great narrator

story was good, but Aoife Mcmahon is excellent! the accents and character voices were well done, and the story was better for it.