Listen free for 30 days

  • An Old Man's Journey: A LitRPG Adventure

  • By: Gregory Allanther
  • Narrated by: Michael Kramer
  • Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (41 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

At the end of his life, Charles was left with one question: What was it all for? 

After his tour of duty and an unremarkable post-Army business career, Charles spent his twilight years watching old movies and waiting for his grandkids to call. He'd lived a good life and been a decent man, but now that his wife was gone, he was...lonely.

Until his old friend Bert introduced him to Crossroads, the new VR sensation. In this virtual world he can move without pain, explore new lands, and most importantly - see his family again. For as long as he can hold their interest, in this fast-paced modern world of instant gratification and VR thrills. 

The solution: Build a place his family wants to visit. Armed only with a magic stick with game-breaking powers that should be nerfed, Charles sets out on a journey to find a place to call his own. Along the way, he will be mistaken for an NPC quest giver, become the antagonist in epic questlines, and attempt to teach the next generation proper behavior - even if he has to beat it into them. 

This is the story of one man's search for belonging in his second virtual life. A search for a place to belong, and what it takes to get there. It's also a hilarious romp through online fantasy clichés that will appeal to fans of Ready Player One, The Wandering Inn, and slice-of-life comedies.

Because at the end of a man's life, what's more important than family?

©2021 Aethon Books (P)2022 Aethon Audio

More from the same

What listeners say about An Old Man's Journey: A LitRPG Adventure

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fun journey

A lot more unique than I was expecting. The MC is an old man and it is fun to follow him amble around the world as he almost coincidentally gathers people around him.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story - just about the right length

Well written and length matches the breadth of the story really well. Well recommended to anyone with even the slightest interest in role playing games / d&d or levelling up!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christopher
  • Christopher
  • 06-02-22

Pretty over-rated.

This is not a bad LitRPG. In part, this is because it is not really what you think of when expecting a LitRPG. Sure it takes place inside a VMMORPG, but the progression system is wholly ignored by the MC. He has maybe 10 meaningful direct interactions with “the system” in the entire story. He never once checks his stats or even his level.

This doesn’t make this a bad book either. These choices are made for comedic and character personality related reasons. It does however greatly affect the story… which is essentially about an extremely lazy, hypocritical, and disagreeable old man who grudgingly enters a game world.

This should be a great setup for a comedy. Unfortunately, I mostly found it to be frustrating and tedious. It was the same gags over and over which didn’t mean it couldn’t have been funny. But for the most part the humor rarely landed in my opinion. I’m pretty sure I got all the jokes and the dry, ironic overall tone, but the author just didn’t succeed in making it amusing enough to make me chuckle, let alone laugh.

Most of the time I found myself wanting to hit the MC with a stick. I think the real problem was that the author failed to make me empathize enough with our “hero’s” point of view to like him in the way that’s necessary for this kind of book to work. The MC just wasn’t quite clever enough and complained way too much to make me root for him.

In the end, the slice of life nature of this book mixed with the blandness of the MC’s inner monologue made this a very passive listen. On the plus side, Michael Kramer did his usual excellent job at narrating. Also, the writing and editing where very professionally executed.

Lastly, the author seemed to decide to make this a stand-alone-book and not a series only upon writing the last 30 minutes. Because without warning and without any build-up that’s how long it takes for the book to abruptly change pace and “wrap it up” with an ending-like series of events, culminating in an “after-school special” closing scene.

So to sum up, I don’t know that I’d recommend this book for everyone. For me it was a pass-the-time listen and while it kept my attention to some extent it’s definitely one of those audiobooks you listen to because you’re waiting for better gamelit to be released and your cue is looking thin.


P.S. In the final credits they name Rhett C Bruno as the book’s producer which (based on my experience of always returning his books), partially validates my less than glowing review.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dorian T
  • Dorian T
  • 03-02-22

Different!

Really enjoyed this spin on the genre. Kramer should do more in LitRPG. KEEP THEM COMING

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Greg
  • Greg
  • 04-02-22

fresh spin

I enjoyed listening to this old man's journey. I did think handing out his carvings was going somewhere but didn't happen maybe if it ends up with a second book.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-02-22

its all in the title

this book made me chuckle time to time. but also made me feel like i dont spend enough time with my family. nothing amazing happens but i definitely felt plenty of emotions. very happy with the ending i don't think it could have ended any better. this book might not be for everyone but the ones it does reach will truly appreciate it. so thank you for writing this and putting it on audible.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for futnavchap
  • futnavchap
  • 03-02-22

Get off my lawn!

This is a hilarious picture of a man that is so old that he just doesn't care anymore. There are no crunchy stats because he just doesn't care to learn about them. He doesn't seek quests, because he's already retired. Yet he affects the whole game in hilarious ways. Don't listen at work, otherwise you'll have to explain to your boss why your laughing instead of working.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 08-02-22

Angry Old Man Abuses People

The entire story is about an angry Old Man who learns he can gives quests. He doesn't care about any of the people around him and spends the book focused building a place for his kids and grandkids to visit him. no word on if his kids are playing the game. No idea on the ages of his grandkids because they sound significantly older than the activities he plans for them. I mean, he's 94. The stuff he talks about doing is stuff great grandkids would do, not a 20+ year old adult. He doesn't have redeeming qualities, just a selfish old man who goes about manipulating other people to do stuff for him and complains about everything he comes across.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joseph  G.
  • Joseph G.
  • 03-02-22

frustratingly hilarious

didn't know what to expect but, this book had me drawn in an laughing out loud the entire time. highly recommend it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rob Bew
  • Rob Bew
  • 03-02-22

Wonderful!

I need to write fifteen words. They are these words. Good words. Good book. Strong writing. Great performance.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Georgia McNabb
  • Georgia McNabb
  • 12-05-22

Grumpy Old Man in a LitRPG Game

This was fun, really appreciate some of the things the Grunpy Old Man did. Also dislike small parts of his additude towards others. You get to met quite a few Very Unique characters too. Narrator does a good job with the various characters voices and the entire storyline.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mitra X.
  • Mitra X.
  • 06-02-22

Simply delightful!

Grumpy old man in a vr game, ignoring and subverting genre tropes at every turn. Lighthearted and meaningful by turns, but always entertaining.

Also loved the way the narrator did slightly different voices for different sorts of stats, so it never felt like a blah of generic numbers listed off. Top notch!

Highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful