Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The New York Times best seller!

In New York Times best-selling author Talia Hibbert's newest rom-com, the flightiest Brown sister crashes into the life of an uptight B&B owner and has him falling hard - literally. Perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory and Helen Hoang! 

Eve Brown is a certified hot mess. No matter how hard she strives to do right, her life always goes horribly wrong - so she's given up trying. But when her personal brand of chaos ruins a wedding, her parents draw the line. It's time for Eve to grow up and prove herself - even though she's not entirely sure how.... 

Jacob Wayne is always in control. The uptight B&B owner expects nothing less than perfection from his employees, so when a purple-haired tornado of a woman applies for his open chef position, he tells her the brutal truth: not a chance in hell. Then she hits him with her car - supposedly by accident. 

Now his arm is broken, his B&B is understaffed and the dangerously unpredictable Eve is fluttering around, trying to help. Before long, she's infiltrated his work, his kitchen - and his spare bedroom. Sunny, chaotic Eve is his natural-born nemesis, but the longer these two enemies spend in close quarters, the more their animosity turns into something else.

©2021 Talia Hibbert (P)2021 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"Talia Hibbert is a rockstar! Her writing is smart, funny and sexy." (Meg Cabot)

What listeners say about Act Your Age, Eve Brown

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    100
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    97
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The narrator though??

I couldn’t even go past the the first chapter. I’ve been looking forward to listening to this book and the narrator/reader has done such a horrible job. It’s as if she’s reading out an advert for tv. As if she’s reading a list, but this is a book. How disappointing

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So precious

I really did love this. Eve and Jacob were charming both as a couple and as seperate characters. The banter was some of the best I've probably read since Dani. When I really sank my teeth into this, I couldn't put it down.It made me swoon, it made me hungry, and it made me think of other things. I am sorry to see the Brown Sisters go, but I'll visit them again, for sure. TW: childhood neglect Tropes/rep: Grumpy x sunshine, workplace romance, caretaking, forced proximity, opposites attract, dislike to love, disability and poc rep

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fuck yesss

I've read the first book in this series and liked it a lot so I was super happy when I realized they were on here. I skipped the second one although I definitely plan on reading that one as well and still I am absolutely in love with this book Talia Hibbert is soo good at writing lovable characters and creating a romance that everyone wants and envies. Out of the two books I've read I prefer this one since I could relate to Eve more but both are definitely worth reading. I love the banter in her books, I think it's one of the hardest things to grasp and she makes all her characters seem effortlessly charming and incredibly attractive. Of course these books aren't perfect but they are so lovely and entertaining that you can't help falling in love with the the family and the man who eventually become part of it. I would absolutely love to read more about Gigi and Shivani because aside from the couples they were my absolute favorite. Also I think the voice acting is absolutely amazing and it added a lot of enjoyment for me so.... get it now. If you're still reading my rant then you need this in your life.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

I Loved it, I didn't want it to end, as usual with Talia Hibbert books.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful end to a great series

I adored every moment of this fantastic audiobook.
Eve and Jacob are absolutely adorable.

Ione Butler was the perfect narrator.

Talia Hibbert is an incredible talent and I eagerly await whatever she writes next.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing story

I absolutely loved this story . It was so well written and such a beautiful story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Phenomenal book

This book was absolutely hilarious and I enjoyed every second of it. I enjoyed the development of Eve and Jacobs relationship. The narrator did an amazing job of narrative the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heart warming

Another brilliant story. Absolutely heat warming with characters that are so real. A lovely ending to the stories of the three Brown sisters.