Listen free for 30 days

  • A Kind of Spark

  • By: Elle McNicoll
  • Narrated by: Emma Tracey
  • Length: 4 hrs and 25 mins
  • 4.9 out of 5 stars (327 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £10.99

Buy Now for £10.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Overall Winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2021

Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week.

The Times Children's Book of the Week.

A Kind of Spark tells the story of 11-year-old Addie as she campaigns for a memorial in memory of the witch trials that took place in her Scottish hometown. Addie knows there's more to the story of these 'witches', just like there is more to hers. Can Addie challenge how the people in her town see her and her autism, and make her voice heard? 

A story about friendship, courage and self-belief, perfect for fans of The Goldfish Boy.

©2020 Elle McNicoll (P)2021 Audible, Ltd

Critic reviews

"Definitive and funny." (Susin Nielsen)

"A fabulous, brilliant debut." (Lisa Thompson)

More from the same

What listeners say about A Kind of Spark

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    292
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    268
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    266
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

As a high functioning autistic person who passes for neurotypical, this was an amazing book to read. Moving, insightful, informative… Elle McNicoll gets it and can explain it. I absolutely loved this book and recommend it for everyone, but especially those who want to feel a connection to (other) autistic people, and to see themselves represented in stories.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent and this is not just for children!

This beautiful and emotional journey scoops you up in the first sentences and keeps engaged the whole time.

You don’t just just gain a wonderful insight into an autistic mind; you also get an ugly reflection of the intolerance and bigotry of some (and regrettably, too many) of the ‘Neurotypical’.

“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing,” These words though never spoken in the book, form the second most powerful narrative in the book,

You may have guessed; I loved this book!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a rare example of good autistic representation

As an autistic adult I can get weary of autistic representation in fiction and have rarely found stories that I would eagerly share with autistic children and young people. I'm happy to say this is definitely an example of where the author got it right and I would thoroughly recommend to anyone, particularly autistic children

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thought provoking and challenging.

A sensitively written story that had my 11 year old son and I gripped, helping us to understand what it feels like to be autistic, while challenging us to think about how we respond to people who think, feel and behave in ways that we might not understand. We had many discussions on how we might helpfully respond to people in our lives who are different to us as a result.
We loved Emma’s performance and would highly recommend this book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A brilliant book for adults as much as children.

I’m not in the target demographic for this book being a male in my late sixties.
But this book has been a joy as well as educational and profound.
It has enriched my life and for that I’m grateful.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Fantastic story, lovely by all my family. would defiantly recommend it others. a great way to make children think 😀

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This was a brilliant listen

I'm really pleased to have downloaded this, loved the characters & the message was pretty powerful.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

The most perfectly cast narrator, and such endearing characters. Stunning audiobook from start to finish, loved it!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Book

I loved this book. It’s very well written and gives an important insight into the feelings and thoughts of an autistic schoolgirl. It teaches an important lesson of acceptance of differences and I think makes great reading for both adults and young people.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heart warming & fun

A beautiful book that grabs you from the outset with the fun characters, love the witch craft part as it’s something in history that has been forgotten and so this was beautifully written and such a fun story that mage you smile alit but also sad in parts, very moving.

1 person found this helpful