Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

From best-selling award-winning author D. Fischer, arrives the steamy and fated mate series, The Cloven Pack, for fans of Suzanne Wright, Lisa Ladew, Alisha Woods, and Celia Kyle alike. 

Resisting this man’s charm isn’t easy. Staying alive after pissing off the wrong person is even harder. 

While interviewing a possible murderer, strong-willed and hot-headed Makenna Goldwin, gains the attention of the local sexy alpha, Evo Johnson. He’s there to investigate the same deranged man, but there’s a few things Kenna doesn’t know: Shifters exist and this murder suspect has gone rogue. 

Rogues are dangerous, but not oblivious. This rogue shifter knows Makenna is different, even if she doesn’t. He has his eyes set on her and now her life is in danger. 

To Evo’s frustration, he has to add more items to his already hefty alpha’s agenda: Keeping his future mate alive, convincing her of what she is, and helping her chase down the man who wants her dead. 

All the while keeping his species a secret. 

It wasn’t as easy as he thought it’d be. 

Adult content and adult language.

©2017 D. Fischer (P)2020 D. Fischer

What listeners say about A Gifted Curse (Wolf Shifter, Fated Mates, Wolf Pack Romance Series)

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • JT
  • 16-09-20

first audio book I couldn't finish

i really tried to like this audio book but the narrator irritated me too much

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maria
  • Maria
  • 11-03-21

Not for me!

I have to admit the story was pretty good, but the narration was very robotic with every character having the same voice. I love shifter books and I have listened to numerous series of shifters of all kinds. However, this series is not for me. I barely got through book 1 with the way it was read, and have no interest in checking out the rest of the series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marjorie
  • Marjorie
  • 13-09-20

Police procedural meets shifter romance

This started as a police procedural with PI Makenna Goldwin being called in to help on a case involving a suspect held on suspicion regarding his proximity to a string of missing women. Evo Johnson, ex FBI was also called in to assist with this case and the chemistry was instant. Kenna wants nothing to do with it. When her next case also seems to involve the same unsub and she is thrown deep into Evo's world, the story line takes a swift turn into PNR territory. Although the unsub still plays an integral role to the story climax, the investigation takes a back seat to Kenna's new place in the pack and her relationship with Evo.

At first it bothered me how quickly Kenna left her old life behind when self-reliance was such a defining characteristic her entire life - but as more information came out it made sense. Plus she stayed true to her alpha self. I would have liked to see more of the investigation and less of the mating ritual (which got really steamy fwiw) but based on the teasers dropped in the end of the book pack politics seem to be a big theme of the series moving forward so it was important to have that established.

Book 1 in a series, this book was well paced and built a believable world with overall likeable characters and a couple despicable villains. The reveals at the end added complexity that hint at interesting things to come. The narration was well done; easy to understand with good expression.

This is an honest and voluntary review of an ARC

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for pjb
  • pjb
  • 22-04-22

Hard listening

I had a hard staying focused while listening to this book. The narrator was very monotone and couldn’t follow going from one character to another.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ME book lover
  • ME book lover
  • 13-01-21

Tolerable but I Wouldn't Recommend

Honestly, I normally don't read books where the author compares themselves to others in the description since they rarely live up to the authors they list and I should have followed that practice here. The story itself wasn't bad, but it wasn't really good either. I think the author actually did herself a disservice by comparing herself to Suzanne Wright, Celia Kyle and the other because since I knew to look for it, I could see scenes that seem a lot like knock offs of scenes in those authors' books.

Also, the narrator is not good. She is extremely slow, and she has multiple pronunciation issues of common words. It does help a bit to speed her up to 1.1 speed. Her narration takes a story that's ok and makes it suck, whereas a good narrator can take an ok story and make it better. I think I may have liked the story if I actually read the novel or the author switches narrators.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kjnnurpl
  • Kjnnurpl
  • 03-09-20

Love the story

I loved the books. Jumped at the chance to be able to listen & review the audible. I’ve gotten into audible while I’m in my car. Radio plays the same ol stuff & has become completely boring..... was not quite impressed with the narrator at first..... It does get better. I received this audible as an AAC for my honest review and opinion. Recommended. HAPPY LISTENING!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for richard joesten
  • richard joesten
  • 31-08-20

A Gifted Curse

This is a fantastic Audio book, the Author and Narrator do a fantastic job at bringing this Audiobook to fruition. I could picture the scenes in my mind's eye, the scenes are epic, and keep you on the edge of your seat. I definitely recommend.
Shauna Joesten

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carlynne Toomey
  • Carlynne Toomey
  • 22-08-20

Great start to a new series!

This is book 1 of a new series by author D. Fischer. As I always expect from one of my favorite authors, the writing is smooth and the plot is excellent. The characters are well developed, believable, and complex. The narration is well done and flows smoothly without the disjointedness that sometimes occurs with audio books. I really enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the next in the series.

I was gifted a copy, upon my request, and am voluntarily leaving my honest review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chelsey Walker
  • Chelsey Walker
  • 22-08-20

Interesting

Very good book, plot is amazing, writing is great, narrated amazingly, overall a GREAT book and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Erin McDonough
  • Erin McDonough
  • 16-08-20

Good series start.

Good solid start to a new series. Enjoyable characters and narration. Looking forward to listening to the rest of the series.