Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Evoking the golden age of crime, and for fans of Raymond Chandler and Agatha Christie, comes A Gambling Man, from one of the world’s best-selling thriller writers, David Baldacci.

A lucky roll of the dice.

California, 1949. Aloysius Archer is on his way to start a new job with a renowned private investigator in Bay Town. Feeling lucky, he stops off at a casino in Reno, where he meets an aspiring actress, Liberty Callahan. Together, they head west on a journey filled with danger and surprises—because Archer isn’t the only one with a secretive past.

A risk worth taking.

Arriving in a town rife with corruption, Archer is tasked with finding out who is doing everything they can to disrupt the appointment of a top official. Then two seemingly unconnected people are murdered at a burlesque club. In a tight-lipped community, Archer must dig deep to reveal the connection between the victims.  

All bets are off.

As the final perilous showdown unfurls, Archer will need all of his skills to decipher the truth from the lies and finally, to prove she’s a star in the making, will Liberty have her moment in the spotlight?

A Gambling Man is the second historical crime novel in David Baldacci’s Private Investigator Archer series, following the Sunday Times top five best seller One Good Deed. 

©2021 David Baldacci (P)2021 Hachette Audio

What listeners say about A Gambling Man

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    338
  • 4 Stars
    89
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    346
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    290
  • 4 Stars
    97
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Better than the first one even

I found the first one really fascinating but with this one I would have loved to be able to give a 5+. Hoping for a third book sonner rather than later. Love the characters and the "scenery"

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book, outstanding narration.

A special word for Edoardo Ballerini who is one of the best narrators I've heard.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not great

This had that sloppy formulaic ghost written feel - macho man beats up thugs (who aren’t in it long enough for it to be satisfying pay back). Two dimensional women are impressed by him for nothing much. Kind of like very boring bad Jack Reacher.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Throughly enjoyable

Great characters, believable story, superbly written and narrated in a style befitting of the time. Absolutely recommended

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

not as good the first

nowhere near as good as the first . good concept but not really a new idea .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a well paced story.

a great story. Ms presley needs more variation in her repertoire of voices, but it didn't detract from the overall listening experience.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good story

Archer is a lot like Reacher. enjoyed the plot
the reader kept the pace goi g

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping.

I found this book a very good follow on from the first. The main character “Archer” stayed true to his personality portrayed in the first of (hopefully) the series. Edoardo Ballerini reads beautifully, he did the female roles in the first book but in this book Brittany Presley did the female lead. She did this very well but I am used to just one reader and found this a distraction.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Took a while

It took quite a bit to get into the story and then suddenly I just didn’t want to stop listening. Excellent book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent read

Brilliant storytelling from the talented Badicci .Set in roughly 1950s era , it is , atmospheric , entertaining. and thoroughly enjoyable Would definitely recommend this book and love his character Archer in this new series .Superb

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for orly
  • orly
  • 25-05-21

great one !

one little think - there is no need for the "he said"/"she said" in an audio book :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anon
  • Anon
  • 21-04-21

Gumshoe Delight

I’m sad that this book is at an end. Such wonderful, lucid writing that brings not only people but also inanimate objects to life. Rich and sumptuous to the very last. A true trip back in time that I thoroughly recommend any potential reader! Can’t wait for the next instalment.