Ian Whates

Ian Whates

Ian Whates is a writer and editor of science fiction, fantasy, and occasionally horror. He is the author of seven novels (four space opera and three urban fantasy with steampunk overtones), the co-author of two more (military SF), has seen sixty-odd of his short stories published in a variety of venues, and is responsible for editing around thirty anthologies. His work has been shortlisted for the Philip K Dick Award and twice for BSFA Awards. His novel Pelquin’s Comet, first in the Dark Angels sequence, was an Amazon UK #1 best seller, and he has seen his writing translated into Spanish, German, Hungarian, Czech and Greek. Ian served a term as a director of SFWA (the Science Fiction Writers of America) and is a director of the BSFA (the British Science Fiction Association) an organisation he chaired for five years. In 2006 Ian founded multiple award-winning independent publisher NewCon Press by accident, and he continues to puzzle over how the press now has 90-odd titles to its credit and counting. Ian lives in a quiet Cambridgeshire village with his partner, Helen, and a far-from-quiet cocker spaniel called Bundle.
Read more Read less
<span style=\Not an Audible member?" title="Not an Audible member?" />
Not an Audible member?
From £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Best Sellers

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.