Holiday Knights Series

5 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 18 ratings

Mistletoe and Chain Mail: (Christmas) Summary

(A sweet and clean novella. Experience a medieval Christmas in authentic detail in this first book of the Holiday Knights Series.)

Sir Adam de Ware is on a mission as a spy for King Edward III. He is sent to Cavendish Castle to investigate some odd behavior from the earl. If he succeeds to get answers for the king, he will be rewarded when the mission is completed. Wanting to get close to the earl's daughter, the cold-hearted Lady Eva, to find out more, Adam decides to seduce her. But the only way to seduce a woman like this is to appeal to what she most desires, and that is sumptuous food! Adam uses his unique skill of being able to cook delectable holiday dishes to lure the woman closer.

Lady Eva Cavendish will do anything to protect her father's secret, even forging missives to the king in her father's name. But when Sir Adam shows up at her doorstep on Christmas Eve with a roasted goose and all the fixings to offer, she finds that she can't turn him away. Since the death of her mother, the kitchen servants haven't been able to serve an edible dish, and she longs for properly prepared food for the Christmastide season.

When the Lord of Misrule proclaims that Sir Adam will be cooking in the castle's kitchen during the 12 days of Christmas, Lady Eva cannot go against the custom of the twisted holiday tradition. And when Sir Adam starts to seduce her with everything from partridge with pears, to French hens, to collie bird pie, she finds his talents alluring and starts to fall for him.

Will the deceit that brings these two together be enough to keep a romance cooking, or will it burn up in the kitchen when the truth is revealed on both their parts?

©2018 Elizabeth Rose (P)2018 RoseScribe Media Inc.
Show More Show Less
Not an Audible member?
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.