6 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 2,761 ratings


Find magic and adventure as you explore the numerous islands of Earthsea in this classic series by legendary fantasy author Ursula K. Le Guin.

In an uncharted ocean lies the enormous archipelago of Earthsea, where hundreds of islands hold thousands of stories. On the island of Gont, a young boy named Ged masters his spells and conflicts to grow up to be a powerful magician. Later, he will visit the Tombs of Atuan in search of a talisman and run afoul of Tenar, the high priestess of the Nameless Ones. In The Farthest Shore, Ged must discover the cause of a sickness that is spreading to the animals and people of the archipelago. Tenar's story continues in Tehanu, as she leaves her post in search of a different path in life. And in the final book, a sorcerer seeks the guidance of Ged after he is plagued by upsetting dreams. 

A prolific writer best known for her works of science fiction, Ursula K. Le Guin produced The Earthsea Cycle between 1968 and 2001. She had not planned to start a series for young adults, but began working on A Wizard of Earthsea at the request of her publisher. Books in The Earthsea Cycle have won numerous awards, including the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, a Nebula Award for Best Novel, a National Book Award, and a Newbery Honor; the series also includes a collection of stories. Le Guin’s high fantasy classics have been adapted into a BBC radio production, a graphic novel, an animated film from Japan’s Studio Ghibli, and a television miniseries.

The Earthsea Cycle is narrated by several esteemed voice actors, including actor Rob Inglis (who also lends his voice to the Lord of the Rings audiobooks), critically acclaimed British actress Jenny Sterlin, and English television and film star Samuel Roukin.

Show More Show Less
<span style=\Not an Audible member?" title="Not an Audible member?" />
Not an Audible member?
From £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.