Anne of Green Gables

78 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 2,851 ratings


The classic story of one-of-a-kind Anne Shirley, an 11-year-old orphan whose arrival in a small, rural Canadian town turns life upside down for everyone she meets.

Middle-aged Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert had intended to adopt a boy to help on their Green Gables farm. Anne’s arrival is a shock, but they are won over by her unique personality and spirit. The series follows the journey of the feisty, imaginative and ever-so talkative orphan as she settles into life on the farm - the first home she’s ever known. Join her adventures with friends, confrontations at school and frequent domestic mishaps as she grows into a young woman. A force of nature, Anne makes her way through life with an exuberant and irrepressible charm. 

Listeners have the option of a selection of talented narrators, including Academy Award-nominated actress Rachel McAdams. A native Canadian, McAdams delivers a joyful audio experience that does justice to the beloved story, drawing the listener into the town of Avonlea. Capturing the enthusiasm and charisma of Anne, the scenes and settings are brought to life with a touching and heartfelt reading.  

Released in 1908 by prolific Canadian writer Lucy Maud Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables draws on the writer’s childhood experiences of rural Prince Edward Island. Montgomery was inspired by popular orphan stories of the time and fascinated with an account of a mistaken adoption. The resulting tale was an immediate success, creating a vibrant and feisty character that has delighted listeners of all ages for generations.  

Translated into 36 languages and selling 50 million copies, this is one of the truly classic stories. The multiple adaptations for film, TV and animation, along with musicals and plays performed from Europe to Japan, testify to the enduring love of an unforgettable character.

Show More Show Less
Not an Audible member?
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.