Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Truths I Never Told You cover art

Truths I Never Told You

By: Kelly Rimmer
Narrated by: Sarah Mollo-Christensen,Piper Goodeve,Jean Ann Douglass
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £29.29

Buy Now for £29.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

“For fans who appreciate emotionally wrenching reads such as those by Sarah Jio or Kristin Hannah.” (Library Journal)

“Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah now have a new go-to author.” (Sally Hepworth, best-selling author of The Secrets of Midwives)

From the best-selling author of The Things We Cannot Say, Before I Let You Go, and the upcoming The Warsaw Orphan, comes a poignant post-WWII novel that explores the expectations society places on women set within an engrossing family mystery that may unravel everything once believed to be true.

With her father recently moved to a care facility, Beth Walsh volunteers to clear out the family home and is surprised to discover the door to her childhood playroom padlocked. She’s even more shocked at what’s behind it - a hoarder’s mess of her father’s paintings, mounds of discarded papers and miscellaneous junk in the otherwise fastidiously tidy house.

As she picks through the clutter, she finds a loose journal entry in what appears to be her late mother’s handwriting. Beth and her siblings grew up believing their mother died in a car accident when they were little more than toddlers, but this note suggests something much darker.

Beth soon pieces together a disturbing portrait of a woman suffering from postpartum depression and a husband who bears little resemblance to the loving father Beth and her siblings know. With a newborn of her own and struggling with motherhood, Beth finds there may be more tying her and her mother together than she ever suspected.

Don't miss Kelly Rimmer's upcoming and unforgettable novel, The Warsaw Orphan.

©2020 Kelly Rimmer (P)2020 Harlequin Audio

What listeners say about Truths I Never Told You

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another amazing book by Kelly Rimmer

I love everything I have ever read by her. I have 3 more books to go and I can’t wait. Her style of
writing keeps you on the edge of your seat but is also comforting in a way. The voice for each character is exactly right and it’s performed beautifully. 💛

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 15-08-20

Another great story by Kelly Rimmer

I loved this story so much. I love the way she tackles abortion, women's rights, dementia and depression in a very sensitive way. I've read the reviews from the anti-abortion faction and I can't believe after reading this that you all can't see how a woman's right to choose is her own personal business and not your business. What women went through before the 70s and the women's rights movement is horrible. How if they suffered from postpartum depression doctors would just tell them they needed to deal with it. How they had no choice but to keep having babies even though it was affecting them so drastically. Many thanks to the author for tackling these subjects at a time when one third of Americans are trying to shove women back into the 50s.

121 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eun
  • Eun
  • 01-06-20

Excellent story

Kelly Rimmer’s Truths I Never Told You had me holding my breath as I read a through Beth, Grace and Maryann’s experiences.

Beth, along with her three siblings, must accept the fact that her father is dying and moving into a nursing home. She takes it upon herself to dismantle the home and get it ready for sale. While cleaning out the attic, BETH finds a series of paintings and notes that are connected to her mother who died when she was just a toddler. The notes, written in her mother’s, hand show a woman under extreme stress. The dates on those notes do not correspond to when she was told her mother died.

This book brooches the subjects of dementia, postpartum depression, abortion and love. They are dealt with in a sympathetic manner.

I have read other books by this author and find her to be engaging and thought-provoking.
The audible version was an easy listen and beautifully performed.

56 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JQuesada
  • JQuesada
  • 19-08-20

What a story!!

Such good representation of female struggles and social successes that some of us now a days don’t appreciate as we should. I’m pregnant myself and this book helped me overcome my fears of going through post partum depression since I suffered depression before getting pregnant. Kelly Rimmer does it again, representing ordinary women with ordinary problems in this wonderful and so to the point book. Of to her next book, can’t seem to stop reading her (or listening in this case). The performances were really good too.

39 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stephanie Thompson
  • Stephanie Thompson
  • 18-04-20

Great again.

I didn't think I was going to get into this book. But before I knew it I was hooked. The characters are so real I felt I knew them. Subject matter debatable but which ever side you're on it will leave you thinking.

34 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carrie Hallahan
  • Carrie Hallahan
  • 10-06-20

wonderful book with such a strong message

narration was great. so easy to follow. I love Kelly rimmers books. wonderfully written and a strong message for all women!

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Camille
  • Camille
  • 21-07-20

Good - but not her best

First let me say that I LOVED The Things we Cannot Say............so I was hoping for a book just as compelling. Kelly Rimmer is a great writer - but this did not compare to her last one. The first half was slow. And while I am all for character development, it was slower than I liked. The second half was really good.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for regina messer
  • regina messer
  • 12-06-20

good read , touching on women's life topics

chick read for sure but good.
touching on women's lives and situations they face...abortion, marriage, kids, depression and much more.
recamend.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TC
  • TC
  • 28-08-20

Abortion Propaganda

This entire thing was slow and tedious and sappy and basically a push for abortion rights. The readers were sappy too and had little material to work with as the story was so terribly slow and repetitive. What a total waste of time and money.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gayle
  • Gayle
  • 03-05-20

Great

This is the second book I have read of hers in the past month. I like how she writes and brings you into the story. Twist and turns along with happiness and tears.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debra Andrus
  • Debra Andrus
  • 13-12-20

Enjoyed until...

...until it became Planed Parenthood propaganda. Post partum depression is terrible, for mother and baby both, but why apply 1950s logic to a 2020 issue?. In the 50s, 60s, and 70s we thought of the fetus as "it", but we now know "it" is a being, not a lump of cells. The author uses a sledge hammer instead of a scalpel to explore one of the most heart-rending situations in life. I expected more.

9 people found this helpful