Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
These Shallow Graves cover art

These Shallow Graves

By: Jennifer Donnelly
Narrated by: Kim Bubbs
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £35.29

Buy Now for £35.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

From Jennifer Donnelly, the critically acclaimed New York Times best-selling author of A Northern Light and Revolution, comes a mystery about dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge. For fans of Elizabeth George and Libba Bray, These Shallow Graves is the story of how much a young woman is willing to risk and lose in order to find the truth.

Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon - like all the girls in her class - she’ll graduate from finishing school and be married off to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams of becoming a writer - a newspaper reporter like the trailblazing Nellie Bly.

Wild aspirations aside, Jo’s life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: Her father is found dead. Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning his pistol. One of New York City’s wealthiest men, he owned a newspaper and was a partner in a massive shipping firm, and Jo knows he was far too smart to clean a loaded gun.

The more Jo hears about her father’s death, the more something feels wrong. Suicide is the only logical explanation, and of course people have started talking, but Jo’s father would never have resorted to that. And then she meets Eddie - a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter at her father’s newspaper - and it becomes all too clear how much she stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth. But now it might be too late to stop.

The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part of all.

©2015 Jennifer Donnelly (P)2015 Listening Library

Critic reviews

"These Shallow Graves delivered all that I adore: lovely prose, historical intrigue, unique characters and setting. I devoured this book!" (Ruta Sepetys, New York Times best-selling author of Between Shades of Gray and Out of the Easy)

"An intelligent, personable heroine-Jo Montfort's hopes for an enlightened future uncover a dark past, resulting in a splendidly hair-raising tour of the brightest and darkest corners of Victorian New York." (Elizabeth Wein, New York Times best-selling author of Code Name Verity and Black Dove, White Raven)

"A fast-paced Gilded Age crime thriller that plunges its intrepid investigative-journalist heroine into the sordid underworld of nineteenth-century New York City and into her own family's dark secrets." (Julie Berry, award-winning author of All the Truth That's In Me)

What listeners say about These Shallow Graves

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ruth M. Penson
  • Ruth M. Penson
  • 09-11-15

Take a pass on this one!

It's hard to believe that "The Tea Rose Series" was written by the same writer who wrote this book.
The writing is amateurish, stilted and unrealistic.
If this is historical fiction, then fiction is the operative word. The main character, Josephine, behaves and speaks like a 21 century young woman...not one from the 1880's. As is her outlandish behavior.
There is plenty of murder and "mystery" which can be figured out very quickly. All very predictable.
I gave this only 1 star, but I'd have preferred 0 stars!!!
The narrator was just as bad as the writing. She sounded as if she was trying out for a high school play, and doing it very poorly!!!!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tabitha
  • Tabitha
  • 02-03-18

Amazing book

This is a must read!!! Jennifer is a amazing writer she really knows how to keep the story going.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. S. Lenore
  • J. S. Lenore
  • 24-07-17

The Longest Book in the World

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

I listened to this while doing housework, so it kept my mind mildly entertained. If I were just listening to this story by itself, however, I don't think it would've been as engaging.

What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

I found the ending predictable and easy to figure out. The "mysteries" were obvious from early on in the book, and the main character's shock at the reveal felt unrealistic.

Did Kim Bubbs do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

I really didn't like the narrator. She had a very flat tone throughout the story, almost robotic (there were times where I felt like Siri was reading the story to me), and I struggled to tell the characters apart by her voice work alone. I will say this, though: she did great with accents when they were presented.

Any additional comments?

It's not an awful book, and the historical details are great. However, the mystery and romance that made up the majority of the plot didn't engage me. It felt like insta-love between the main characters, which I dislike, and the mystery was too easily solved.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christine
  • Christine
  • 20-04-17

Not Her Best Book

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

I love Jennifer Donnelly's other works theTea Rose series was phenomenal, and Revolution was good but I think since she has started writing those Disney mermaid books her writing style has been lacking it's old gusto.

How could the performance have been better?

The narration was terrible, the girl's voice always sounded whiny.

Any additional comments?

I hope this author will start writing for adults again.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Moschenross
  • S. Moschenross
  • 21-04-22

A good story needing a more dramatic performance

This was a great story! I had the murderer figured out right away but there were other twists and turns that surprised and delighted me. I got used to the narrator over time but she sort of reads the book AT you and not TO you. There isn’t a lot of differentiation between voices and a default, clipped monotone that could have been much more expressive. This book is more read than performed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacey Shoemaker
  • Jacey Shoemaker
  • 10-08-21

Phenomenal!

I have owned six copies of The Tea Rose. The first three were paperbacks and I read each until they’d fallen to bits. Then a hardback, a digital, and an audible copy. Jennifer Donnelly has been my favorite author for more than a decade, and The Tea Rose my favorite book for even longer. I read constantly so holding that top spot is quite a feat. And yet somehow, I found a new favorite book here. I couldn’t have imagined that I would ever love a book or a character as much as I have loved this book and Jo. The characters were phenomenal. The story intriguing. This is another stunning production form the brilliant mind of Jennifer Donnelly. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicole
  • Nicole
  • 14-09-19

Not a fan

Not a fan of the narrator monotone, honestly I can’t get into the audiobook for that reason unfortunately I purchased it too long ago to return it or I would. The book itself it’s very good!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kandice
  • Kandice
  • 01-10-18

WOW

I loved this book I loved the thrills and specific details that tied together. Definitely would recommend!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-01-18

down right hoot and holler

can't get enough! This book is the best I've read. thriller, outspoken, witty, charming, passion

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for gamazon
  • gamazon
  • 14-06-17

it was better than I expected

didnt like the name jo cuz its too close to the name joe bristle...

i want to read the story of one of the other character in this book