Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £32.09

Buy Now for £32.09

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Perfect for fans of The School for Good and Evil, the eagerly anticipated follow-up to M. A. Larson's Pennyroyal Academy is hailed by the New York Times as a "breathtakingly exciting novel" with a heroine who "deserves a special place in a new pantheon of capable, feisty and, yes, admirable literary princesses". 

A triumphant victory over the witches has proven that Princess Cadet Evie really does belong at Pennyroyal Academy. News of her heroism has traveled far and wide - inspiring a kingdom of grateful citizens and, when the new term starts, a wave of fresh academy recruits. 

While it's good to be returning to the academy as a second-class cadet, things are not as they should be. Evie witnesses the vicious attack of an innocent woman - by a trio of princesses. Pennyroyal's headmistress general, Princess Beatrice, is dubious about what Evie saw - princesses are enforcers of truth and justice, not thugs. But Evie isn't so sure. Then, amid piles of fan mail, she finds a letter with an ominous threat. A secret society has come out of the shadows with a wicked plan, putting the academy in peril. It's up to Evie and her friends to unravel the devious plot and save Pennyroyal Academy. 

This sequel to the beloved, critically acclaimed Pennyroyal Academy promises middle-grade listeners a tale full of adventure and suspense. 

©2016 M. A. Larson (P)2016 Listening Library

Critic reviews

"M. A. Larson has created a magical world of adventure - a world that shows who princesses truly are: people of character and courage and strength. No one rescues Pennyroyal princesses; they rescue themselves." (Reese Witherspoon)

"Pennyroyal Academy is one of those books you want to parse out and make last. It is a breathtakingly exciting novel, and Evie deserves a special place in a new pantheon of capable, feisty, and yes, admirable literary princesses." (The New York Times Book Review)

 "Flashes of inspiration light up a protagonist with plenty of spine.... A sequel-worthy debut." (Kirkus Reviews)

What listeners say about The Shadow Cadets of Pennyroyal Academy

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • CM
  • 08-07-19

The Narrator is not that good🙁

I like the book, the idea & the pacing, but the narrator ruined it for me, I'm afraid. It's a shame.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kristin Ellermann
  • Kristin Ellermann
  • 25-02-17

Bit of Middle book syndrome and a little short

Fun an interesting, decent sequel, but felt a little rushed at the end. Second year at school is never as interesting as the first year, but would have enjoyed a bit more detail. Not as scary as the previous book, I think the ending got a bit rushed. I love the characters and world so I am sure I will buy the next one.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Reuvain Bacal
  • Reuvain Bacal
  • 26-03-19

Good with a twitch.

I loved the story, but I found the narrater's voice a bit mechanical. Otherwise, I think it was a winner.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Clayton Berry
  • Clayton Berry
  • 02-05-20

Continuation of a fun storyline

Another solid installment in the series. Kids back at school for a second year, and though much is the same, there are enough differences and challenges to keep it fresh. I particularly found the narrator to have an even broader range and overall easy to listen to. Sure there were a few tropes I didn’t like, but what story doesn’t have those.

While there are good and bad things/characters, overall the story is still fun and light. I find this much needed during the current world situation. Well paced and doesn’t overstay it’s welcome. Annoyed that book 3 is not currently available on audible though?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Krista Jasper
  • Krista Jasper
  • 11-01-17

The Princess Private

The second story of Cadet Evie at the PennyRoyal Academy was just as good as the first. It is great to see "Princesses" trained like soldiers and to use the ideals of Confidence
Courage, Kindness and Discipline to fight the evils of the Enchanted Kingdoms. Evie is still trying to figure out who she is and what she is. If you like Fairy Tales with a twist and strong female characters who are, by no means dependent, this is a story for you. My only disappointment is that Book 3 is not out yet. I love the narrator's performance. Her voices are well chosen and performed excellently.