Listen free for 30 days

  • The Secret of Haven Point

  • By: Lisette Auton
  • Narrated by: Lisette Auton
  • Length: 8 hrs and 16 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £11.99

Buy Now for £11.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Brought to you by Puffin.

A stunning literary adventure from an incredible debut talent, perfect for fans of Kiran Millwood Hargrave, Cerrie Burnell and Katherine Rundell.

I was Haven Point's first Wreckling, but I certainly wasn't the last. There are forty-two of us now, not including the mermaids. When you're a Wreckling, you mainly spend your days squabbling, eating and planning adventures. Oh, and Wrecklings also carry out wreckings, which is how we got our name....

Washed up as a baby beside a remote lighthouse and raised by a mermaid, Alpha Lux was the first foundling at Haven Point. Now the lighthouse is a ramshackle home for any disabled person who needs somewhere to belong. Looting from passing ships to make a living, they call themselves the Wrecklings, and for the children of Haven Point life is spent adventuring on the wild shore (and getting into trouble with the grown-ups).

But when Alpha spots a strange light up on the headland, she realizes that her beloved family are in danger of being discovered by Outsiders.

With their home under threat, the Wrecklings must decide what kind of future they want....and what they're willing to do to get it.

©2022 Lisette Auton (P)2022 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

"A charming tale of found families and mermaids, with my favourite kind of hero at its heart." (Elle McNicoll, award-winning author of A Kind of Spark)

What listeners say about The Secret of Haven Point

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A brilliant, enthralling story of found family.

There aren't enough books, much less children's books, with disabled characters in them. Those that there are often get it wrong. Clearly we need more novels written by disabled writers like Lisette Auton.
Lisette has written the book lots of disabled adults wish they had read as disabled kids. The protagonist, Alpha, is funny, kind, brave and real.
The audiobook is read with passion and poetry by the author, but the paper book is worth a look too as it's illustrated beautifully. There are some quite scary and sad bits which some younger (and older) readers might need a cuddle after, but it's a joyful book and I can't wait for the hinted at next installment.